List of Australian Open Women’s singles champions (1969-2020)

Women's Australian Open Winners | List of Australian Open Women's Champions

The Australian Open is an annual tennis tournament held in 1905 for the first time and played on outdoor hard courts at Melbourne Park in Australia. The Australian Open women’s singles title was first contested in the year 1922. Alongwith the singles title, the women’s doubles and mixed doubles competition are the last 3 events to be added to the Australian Open tennis tournament.

The Australian Open is played for around 2 weeks starting in mid-January. The event was not held from 1940 to 1945 because of World War II, and 1986 because Tennis Australia wanted to move the tournament start from mid-December 1986 to mid-January 1987. Australian tennis player Margaret Court holds the all-time record for maximum singles titles at this tournament with 11; 7 in the Amateur Era and 4 in the Open Era. US tennis player Serena Williams holds the Open Era record with 7 singles titles. Checkout the complete list of Australian Open Women’s Singles Winners as given below:-

Australian Open Women’s Winners List 

Year Winner Runners-up
2019 Naomi Osaka (Japan) Petra Kvitová (Czech Republic)
2018 Caroline Wozniacki (Denmark) Simona Halep (Romania)
2017 Serena Williams (USA) Venus Williams (USA)
2016 Angelique Kerber (Germany) Serena Williams (USA)
2015 Serena Williams (USA) Maria Sharapova (Russia)
2014 Li Na (China) Dominika Cibulkova (Slovakia)
2013 Victoria Azarenka (Belarus) Li Na (China)
2012 Victoria Azarenka (Belarus) Maria Sharapova (Russia)
2011 Kim Clijsters Li Na (China)
2010 Serena Williams (USA) Justine Henin
2009 Serena Williams (USA) Dinara Safina
2008 Maria Sharapova Ana Ivanović
2007 Serena Williams (USA) Maria Sharapova
2006 Amelie Mauresmo Justine Henin-Hardenne
2005 Serena Williams (USA) Lindsay Davenport (USA)
2004 Justine Henin-Hardenne Kim Clijsters
2003 Serena Williams (USA) Venus Williams (USA)
2002 Jennifer Capriati Martina Hingis
2001 Jennifer Capriati Martina Hingis
2000 Lindsay Davenport Martina Hingis
1999 Martina Hingis A. Mauresmo
1998 Martina Hingis C. Martinez
1997 Martina Hingis M. Pierce
1996 Monica Seles A. Huber
1995 Mary Pierce A.S. Vicario
1994 Steffi Graf A.S. Vicario
1993 Monica Seles S. Graf
1992 Monica Seles M.J. Fernandez
1991 Monica Seles J. Novotna
1990 Steffi Graf M.J. Fernandez
1989 Steffi Graf H. Sukova
1988 Steffi Graf C. Evert
1987 Hana Mandlikova M. Navratilova
1986 Not held
1985 Martina Navratilova C. Evert Lloyd
1984 Chris Evert Lloyd H. Sukova
1983 Martina Navratilova K. Jordan
1982 Chris Evert Lloyd M. Navratilova
1981 Martina Navratilova C. Evert Lloyd
1980 Hana Mandlikova W. Turnbull
1979 Barbara Jordan S. Walsh
1978 Chris O’Neil B. Nagelsen
1977 Evonne Cawley H. Gourlay
1977 Kerry Reid D. Balestrat
1976 Evonne Cawley R. Tomanova
1975 Evonne Goolagong M. Navratilova
1974 Evonne Goolagong C. Evert
1973 Margaret Court E. Goolagong
1972 Virginia Wade E. Goolagong
1971 Margaret Court E. Goolagong
1970 Margaret Court K. Melville
1969 Margaret Court B.J. King

Also Read: List of Men’s Australian Open Winners

Women’s Australian Open FAQ’s

1. Which Tennis player won the first women’s Australian Open title?

The first women’s singles Australian Open title was won by Margaret Molesworth.

2. Who won the 2019 Women’s Australian Open title?

Japanese Tennis player Naomi Osaka won the 2019 Women’s Australian Open title.

3. Who has won Women’s Australian Open Title for maximum number of times?

US Female Tennis player Serena Williams has won the women’s singles title a record 7 times (until 2019).

4. Has Maria Sharapova won the Australian Open Title yet?

Yes, Maria Sharapova beat Ana Ivanovic to win the Australian Open title in year 2008.

5. How many times has Serena Williams won the Australian Open?

Serena Williams has won the 7 Australian Open title till the year 2019.

6. How many Australian Open title has Victoria Azarenka won?

Victoria Azarenka has won the Australian Open title 2 times (2012 & 2013).

Leave a Reply