List of Australian Open Men’s singles champions (1969-2020)

Men's Australian Open Winners | List of Australian Open Men's Singles Champions

Australian Open is one of the popular tennis tournaments. Australian Open was started in the year 1905. It is played annually on outdoor hardcourts at Melbourne Park in Melbourne, Australia. The Australian Open begins around mid-January every year for about 2-weeks period. The event was not played from 1916 to 1918 because of World War I, from 1941 to 1945 because of World War II and in 1986. The Australian Open was an Open Era event for the first time in 1969. One year previously in 1968 the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open were Open Era events for the first time. The tournament organizes both, men’s single and women’s singles, apart from men’s and women’s doubles and mixed doubles competition. Checkout the complete list of Australian Open Men’s Singles Winners as given below:-

Australian Open Men’s Winners List 

Year Winner Runners up
2019 Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2018 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Marin Čilić (Croatia)
2017 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2016 Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Andy Murray (UK)
2015 Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Andy Murray (UK)
2014 Stanislas Wawrinka (Switzerland) Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2013 Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Andy Murray (UK)
2012 Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2011 Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Andy Murray (UK)
2010 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Andy Murray (UK)
2009 Rafael Nadal (Spain) Roger Federer (Swiz)
2008 Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
2007 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Fernando Gonzalez (Chile)
2006 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Marcos Baghdatis
2005 Marat Safin Lleyton Hewitt
2004 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Marat Safin
2003 Andre Agassi Rainer Schüttler
1981 Johan Kriek S. Denton
1989 Ivan Lendl M. Mecir
2002 Thomas Johansson Marat Safin
2001 Andre Agassi A.Clement
2000 Andre Agassi Y. Kafelnikov
1999 Yevgeny Kafelnikov T. Enqvist
1998 Petr Korda M. Rios
1997 Pete Sampras C. Moya
1996 Boris Becker M. Chang
1995 Andre Agassi P. Sampras
1994 Pete Sampras T. Martin
1993 Jim Courier S. Edberg
1992 Jim Courier S. Edberg
1991 Boris Becker I. Lendl
1990 Ivan Lendl S. Edberg
1988 Mats Wilander P. Cash
1987 Stefan Edberg P. Cash
1983 Mats Wilander I. Lendl
1986 No Tournament 
1985 Stefan Edberg M. Wilander
1984 Mats Wilander K. Curren
1982 Johan Kriek S. Denton
1980 Brian Teacher K. Warwick
1979 Guillermo Vilas J. Sadri
1978 Guillermo Vilas J. Marks
1977 (2) Vitas Gerulaitis J. Lloyd
1977 (1) Roscoe Tanner G. Vilas
1976 Mark Edmondson J. Newcombe
1975 John Newcombe J. Connors
1974 Jimmy Connors P. Dent
1973 John Newcombe O. Parun
1972 Ken Rosewall M. Anderson
1971 Ken Rosewall A. Ashe
1970 Arthur Ashe D. Crealy
1969 Rod Laver A. Gimeno

Also Read: List of Women’s Australian Open Winners

Men’s Australian Open FAQ’s

1. Which Tennis player won the first men’s Australian Open title?

The first men’s singles Australian Open title was won by Rodney Heath.

2. Who won the 2019 Men’s Australian Open title?

Novak Djokovic won the 2019 Men’s Australian Open title.

3. Who has won the Australian Open for the most number of times?

Serbian Tennis player Novak Djokovic has won the men’s singles title a record 7 times (until 2019).

4. Has Rafael Nadal won the Australian Open?

Yes, Rafael Nadal beat Roger Federer to win the Australian Open title in 2009.

5. How many times has Novak Djokovic won the Australian Open?

Novak Djokovic has won the 7 Australian Open title till year 2019.

6. How many Australian Opens has Federer won?

Roger Federer has won the Australian Open title 6 times.

Leave a Reply