Sports Monks

Four cities in Pakistan will host the upcoming PSL 2020

Four cities in Pakistan have been chosen as the host venues for the upcoming Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2020 which will have 34 matches in total. This has been officially announced by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and the Gaddafi Stadium at Lahore will be hosting a total of 14 matches which includes the PSL 2020 final slated for 22nd March. Karachi will be hosting the opening game of the tournament on 20th February between Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators out of 9 games in all.

The other two venues are Multan and Rawalpindi which will host 3 and 8 matches respectively. At the release of the official schedule, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) positioned a countdown clock at the entrance to the hallowed Gaddafi Stadium at Lahore which will host the final and two eliminator rounds as well. The resumption of major cricket in Pakistan post the terrorist attacks on the Sri Lankan team bus in the year 2009 at Lahore, has been majorly confined to Karachi and Lahore. International cricket came back after 13 years last month in Rawalpindi when the city hosted Pakistan’s very first home test match in almost a decade. Multan hosted an international cricket game last in April 2008.

Also Read: Pakistan Super League 2020 Schedule

According to the Chairman of the PCB, Ehsan Mani, after bringing back Test cricket in Pakistan, hosting the HBL Pakistan Super League is another feather in the cap for the board. He talked of how this was a Pakistani cricketing league and should be played out in front of the fans at home. He stated that this commitment had been made to the fans in Pakistan at the conclusion of the event last year and the promise has now been fulfilled. Multan was chosen after the independent consultant appointed by PCB carried out a comprehensive assessment of security. The stadium is still being renovated but will be ready ahead of the PSL tournament.

The contingent of 36 foreign players this time in PSL includes global cricketing icons such as Dale Steyn, Chris Jordan, Ben Cutting, Alex Hales and Chris Lynn among others. The 6 teams have signed 6 foreign players each and only 4 foreign players will get a chance in the final playing XI for every match. 425 overseas players across 22 countries had initially registered for the PSL 2020 draft. Mani also said that this is indicative of the confidence that global players have with regard to playing in Pakistan. The event will majorly boost the country’s tourism and economy as well according to him. Mani also said that the fans here will finally get a chance to see their favorite stars in action.

Quetta Gladiators are the defending champions of the tournament and will have 3 games in Lahore and 4 in Karachi in addition to two games in Rawalpindi and one game in Multan. Peshawar Zalmi will be playing one game each in Multan and Lahore along with 3 and 5 matches at Karachi and Rawalpindi respectively. Lahore Qalandars have 8 matches in Lahore and will be playing one game each in Rawalpindi and Karachi. Karachi Kings will play 5 matches in Karachi, one game in Multan and two games each in Rawalpindi and Lahore. Multan Sultans will play 5 games in Lahore and 3 games in Multan along with a game each in Rawalpindi and Karachi. Islamabad United will play 5, 3 and 2 matches at Rawalpindi, Lahore and Karachi respectively.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has leveraged the Pakistan Super League (PSL) over the last few years to restore major international cricket in the country. It all started in the year 2017 with the Gaddafi Stadium hosting the final of the PSL and in the next season, 4 matches took place across Lahore and Karachi. The 4th and last edition of the PSL in 2019 had 8 games played in Karachi which included the final.

Leave a Reply