Sports Monks

Ind vs Ban 3rd T20I Preview: Bangladesh’s Massive Chance to Make History in Nagpur

The India vs Bangladesh T20I rivalry is now nine matches old after the conclusion of the second game in Rajkot. After a minor blip in Delhi, the Men in Blue are back to winning ways with skipper Rohit Sharma leading the charge with a matchwinning 85. It was a comprehensive performance by Rohit’s men as both the bowlers and the batters did their job to perfection. 

With the series level at 1-1, the focus now shifts to the third and the final game in Nagpur on Sunday which is also the decider. Both teams opted to field an unchanged XI in Rajkot. However, with both teams yet to test their bench-strength, changes should be around the corner. Both the captains had different opinions on the result of the game. While Bangladesh skipper Mahmudullah blamed their middle-order collapse for their loss, Rohit, on the other hand, lauded the overall turnaround of the team after their rather shocking defeat in the first game. 

Bangladesh skipper Mahmudullah blamed their feeble batting performance for Rajkot T20I loss. (Picture Source: BCCI)
Bangladesh skipper Mahmudullah blamed their feeble batting performance for Rajkot T20I loss. (Picture Source: BCCI)

Both the teams thus will look to plug all the loopholes and get the basics covered as any mistake might cost them the match. Both teams also have some team concerns before they decide on announcing the playing XI that takes the field on Sunday. While Rishabh Pant has constantly been criticized for his under-par keeping skills, Shivam Dube also has not contributed in the first two games. He was used for just two overs with the ball and was not even required with the bat.

Will Sanju Samson be picked ahead of Rishabh Pant on Sunday. (Picture Source: BCCI)
Will Sanju Samson be picked ahead of Rishabh Pant on Sunday. (Picture Source: BCCI)

With Manish Pandey waiting in the wings, there is a possibility of Dube being replaced by the Karnataka batsman depending on the team composition. Sanju Samson, is the other player who is waiting for his opportunity. With Rishabh Making repetitive mistakes, Samson might well get his chance at Nagpur. 

The bowling line-up looks good with Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya and Deepak Chahar. Khaleel Ahmed who had an outing to forget in Delhi, did not have the best of days in Rajkot as well going for 44 off his four overs and picking up just the one wicket. With Shardul Thakur yet to be given a game in the series, he is the perfect replacement for an underperforming Khaleel.

As per as Bangladesh is concerned, what changes do make to their playing XI will remain a talking point. Despite missing their senior players Shakib-AL-Hasan and Tamim Iqbal, the Bangla Tigers showed grit and determination to win the first game. There is no reason why they might not replicate the performance again in Nagpur. They have entered into record books by beating India in their own backyard for the first time ever and things are just rightly poised for Mahmudullah’s men to make a major upset.

The pitch is expected to be a batting-friendly one just like it was in Rajkot. This means that the team which wins the toss would like to chase. This makes Rohit Sharma the player to watch out for. Whether he can continue his good form is something that every Indian fan will look forward too. 

The Indian team will have the support of their loyal fans in Nagpur which will add to the pressure of performance. This is where Bangladesh is a dangerous opposition. With all the talk about India’s comeback in style to win the game in Rajkot, the threat of them repeating their Delhi heroics is also looming large.

Bangladesh did manage to give India a killer blow in the 2007 World Cup which saw them make an early exit from the tournament. This is what makes the final on Sunday an even contest. A good game, therefore, is expected to be on the cards.

Probable Playing XI of India and Bangladesh for 3rd T20I

Teams: India (From): Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Shivam Dube, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, K Khaleel Ahmed

Bangladesh (From): Liton Das, Mohammad Naim, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mahmudullah(c), Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Arafat Sunny, Mohammad Mithun, Taijul Islam

Leave a Reply