IPL 2020 All-Star Match: All Details Revealed

The BCCI in their IPL GC meeting announced that the matches in IPL 2020 will begin from 8 pm, like the previous years and that only five double-headers will be played this year. They also announced that no-balls will be decided by television umpires, a move which was welcomed by players and captains after repeated errors by on-field umpires in judging no-balls over the years. The BCCI further announced that concussion substitutes will be allowed in the league starting this year. The board also for the first time in IPL history announced an IPL 2020 All-Star Match which will be played three days before the start of the tournament from March 29. The BCCI also announced that the final of the season will be played in Mumbai on May 24. These decisions were made at the IPL General Council meeting on Monday, January 27 in New Delhi. The proceeds from the game will go to a charity.

The idea of an IPL 2020 All-Star Match was the brainchild of BCCI President Sourav Ganguly and the chairman of the IPL governing council Brijesh Patel. This match will allow the fans to forget their franchise based loyalties and enjoy the spectacle which will be presented by the players.

Also Read: IPL 2020 Start Date: IPL 13th Season will Take Place from 29 March with the Same Timings

As per reports in Cricinfo, the two teams for the IPL 2020 All-Star Match are likely to be formed with players from the four franchises in the north and east of India – Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Capitals, Rajasthan Royals and Kolkata Knight Riders, and the four teams in the south and west – Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians. The venue for the game hasn’t been finalised as yet.

Thus there is a very good chance that the fans will get to see MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, AB De Villiers, Suresh Raina playing together for one team. While the likes of Andre Russell, Ben Stokes, Steve Smith, Jofra Archer, KL Rahul, Chris Gayle and others playing together for another team. MS Dhoni is almost sure to lead the team from the West and South Zone, Dinesh Karthik looks the best possible candidate to lead the North & East Zone.

Predicted XI from North & East Zone: KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Dinesh Karthik (C), Shreyas Iyer, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Shreyas Gopal

Predicted XI from South & West Zone: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, AB De Villiers, Suresh Raina, Shane Watson, MS Dhoni (C), Jasprit Bumrah, Piyush Chawla, Dwayne Bravo, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Players from Australia, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka will be busy with their national commitments and will be available in IPL 2020 only from April 1. This is the reason why many of them might skip playing the game.

Nothing like this has been arranged by the board in the previous 12 editions of the IPL. Considering the fact that this is the biggest domestic T20 league in the world and the players who play in this league are arguably the best in their countries, this particular IPL 2020 All-Star Match will be a visual treat for all IPL fans across the world.

Also Read: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 Schedule

Image result for Trailblazers vs Supernovas IPL women's exhibition match
Photo Source: ( https://twitter.com/BCCI)

The BCCI has also announced that a fourth team will be added to the women’s exhibition matches which are played during the IPL. The matches are organised since the last two seasons. Trailblazers and Supernovas contested a one-off exhibition match in 2018, which finished in a last-ball thriller. In 2019, another team named Velocity was added as the three teams played a total of four matches which ran parallelly with the IPL playoffs. This year another team will be added into the fold, the name of which has not yet been decided. Cricinfo reports that there will be seven matches this time around including the final which will be once again played around the IPL playoffs.

Leave a Reply