Gawad withdraws from Qatar Classic

Former World Champion and World No.1 Karim Abdel Gawad has withdrawn from the upcoming Qatar Classic, which begins at the weekend.

New Zealand’s Paul Coll moves up to take Gawad’s spot in the 3/4 seeds, with British and Welsh No.1 Joel Makin then taking the subsequent space in the 5/8 section of the draw.

Scotland’s Greg Lobban replaces Makin and moves into the 9/16 seedings, and will receive a bye through to the second round of the Platinum event.

India’s Vikram Malhotra replaces Lobban and will face United States

No.1 Shahjahan Khan, with Qatar’s Abdulrahman Al-Malki taking a place in the draw, replacing Malhotra. He will face England’s Declan James in the first round.

Qatar Classic: Revised Men’s Draw

[1] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) (bye)
George Parker (ENG) v [17/32] Victor Crouin (FRA)
[17/32] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) v Youssef Ibrahim (EGY)
Auguste Dussourd (FRA) v [17/32] Cesar Salazar (MEX)
[9/16] Omar Mosaad (EGY) (bye)
Benjamin Aubert (FRA) v [17/32] Borja Golan (ESP)
[916] Fares Dessouky (EGY) (bye)
[8] Simon Rösner (GER) (bye)
[7] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) (bye)
[WC] Gregory Gaultier (FRA) v [17/32] Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP)
[916] Saurav Ghosal (IND) (bye)
Dimitri Steinmann (SUI) v [17/32] Raphael Kandra (GER)
[9/16] Gregoire Marche (FRA) (bye)
[WC] Syed Azlan Amjad (QAT) v [17/32] Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY)
[17/32] Baptiste Masotti (FRA) v Ramit Tandon (IND)
[4] Paul Coll (NZL) (bye)
[3] Tarek Momen (EGY) (bye)
Mazen Gamal (EGY) v [17/32] Youssef Soliman (EGY)
[9/16] James Willstrop (ENG) (bye)
[9/16] Greg Lobban (SCO) (bye)
[17/32] Tom Richards (ENG) v Nathan Lake (ENG)
Todd Harrity (USA) v [17/32] Lucas Serme (FRA)
[9/16] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) (bye)
[8] Joel Makin (WAL) (bye)
[6] Diego Elias (PER) (bye)
Patrick Rooney (ENG) v [17/32] Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)
[17/32] Vikram Malhotra (IND) v Shahjahan Khan (USA)
[9/16] Miguel Rodriguez (COL) (bye)
[17/32] Eain Yow Ng (MAS) v Karim El Hammamy (EGY)
Abdulrahman Al-Malki (QAT) v [17/32] Declan James (ENG)
[17/32] Tayyab Aslam (PAK) v Richie Fallows (ENG)
[2] Ali Farag (EGY) (bye)

Leave a Reply