Paul Coll

4 Articles

New Zealand’s Coll and Egypt’s Farag to Contest Qatar…

New Zealand’s World No.5 Paul Coll and Egypt’s World No.1 Ali Farag will contest the final of the 2020 Qatar Classic after respective wins over World No.12 Fares Dessouky and World Champion Tarek Momen at the Khalifa International Tennis & Squash Complex in Doha, Qatar. Coll and Farag will lock horns tomorrow in a repeat of March’s 2020 Windy City Open final, where the Egyptian came from two games down to win the title in a thrilling battle in Chicago. Both of today’s

Coll & Dessouky Reach Qatar Classic Semis for First…

New Zealand’s Paul Coll and Egypt’s Fares Dessouky will face off for a place in a maiden Qatar Classic final following respective victories over World No.6 Marwan ElShorbagy and World No.41 Youssef Ibrahim earlier today at the Khalifa International & Squash Complex in Doha, Qatar. Quarter-finals day of the PSA World Tour Platinum tournament saw all four matches go all the way to five games, with Coll kicking things off with an 8-11, 11-4, 5-11, 11-9, 11-5 victory to book his spot in the

Coll of New Zealand in Qatar Classic quarters

New Zealand’s World No.5 Paul Coll was forced to come from 2-1 down against France’s World No.17 Gregoire Marche to book his place in the Qatar Classic quarter finals in Doha. Coll is no stranger to the glass court in Qatar, having reached the PSA World Championship final on this court 12 months ago. However, the Kiwi was out of sorts in the first game with Marche punishing Coll with his accuracy to open up a one game lead. The second proved vital

Gawad withdraws from Qatar Classic

Former World Champion and World No.1 Karim Abdel Gawad has withdrawn from the upcoming Qatar Classic, which begins at the weekend. New Zealand’s Paul Coll moves up to take Gawad’s spot in the 3/4 seeds, with British and Welsh No.1 Joel Makin then taking the subsequent space in the 5/8 section of the draw. Scotland’s Greg Lobban replaces Makin and moves into the 9/16 seedings, and will receive a bye through to the second round of the Platinum event. India’s Vikram Malhotra replaces