DC vs MI: Shikhar Dhawan, Amit Mishra Shine In Delhi Capitals’ Win Over Mumbai Indians

DC vs MI: Shikhar Dhawan, Amit Mishra Shine In Delhi Capitals' Win Over Mumbai Indians

Delhi Capitals’ (DC) Amit Mishra (4/24) spun his web around the Mumbai Indians (MI) batsmen to restrict them to sub-par 137 for 9 after the defending champions decided to bat. Opener Shikhar Dhawan then top-scored with a 45 off 42 balls as DC held their nerves in the final overs to chase down the target with five balls to spare. It was their first win over MI in last five meetings, having lost four times last season in UAE. Chasing 138 to win, DC lost opener Prithvi Shaw (7) early as he gave a return catch to Jayant Yadav (1/25). Dhawan, who started with a cut short for a boundary, was joined by Steve Smith (33) as the two resurrected the innings by adding 53 runs for the second wicket. The two kept the scoreboard ticking, while scoring the odd boundaries as Delhi were 39 for one after six overs.

Smith, who hammered two fours off Krunal Pandya in the 9th over, was the aggressor but a lapse in concentration saw him back in the hut as Kieron Pollard trapped him in the 10th over.

Dhawan hammered five fours and a six and Lalit Yadav (22 not out) kept Delhi in the hunt. With DC needing 48 runs from the last six overs, Dhawan smashed a six and four to bring up the 100 before perishing in the 15th over with Krunal Pandya taking a diving catch in the deep.

Skipper Rishabh Pant (7) also fell cheaply with DC still needing 23 runs. Yadav and West Indian Shimron Hetmyer (14 not out) then held their nerves to took the side home. Hetmyer cut Kieron Pollard on the first ball of the final over to get his team on a cusp of a win and the game ended when the bowler overstepped next.

Earlier, MI suffered a middle-order collapse on a sluggish Chepauk track after they were 67 for 2 at one stage as DC led by Mishra made a spectacular comeback.

Opting to bat, MI lost opener Quinton De Kock (1) early, who edged a Marcus Stoinis (1/20) delivery to Pant in the third over.

Suryakumar Yadav (24) then joined Rohit Sharma (44), who got his first boundary – an elegant drive, which raced to deep extra cover fence in the third over. The duo rallied the innings with their 58-run stand. Rohit took on ace off-spinner Ravichandra Ashwin (0/30) in the 4th over which fetched 15 runs.

The MI skipper hammered a boundary and a maximum – a loft over extra cover, while Suryakumar also got one boundary, courtesy an outside edge. Rohit then hit Kagiso Rabada (1/25) for a six over long-off.

Suryakumar then hit successive fours off Mishra as MI raced to 55 for one after six overs. However, DC pegged back the defending champions by grabbing three quick wickets.

First Avesh Khan (2/15) dismissed Surya, who nicked one to Pant and then Mishra removed Rohit and Hardik Pandya (0) in the 9th over as MI slipped to 77 for 4. Both Rohit and Hardik holed out at long on.

MI then lost half its side for 81 as Krunal Pandya (1) chopped an under-cutting arm ball by Lalit Yadav (1/17) onto his stumps.

Source: NDTV

Leave a Reply