T10 League Round-up: Bairstow steals the show on final day of the Group stage

We now move into the playoffs of the T10 League. Yesterday was the last round of group matches and the exhilarating action continued. Here is a review of the three matches played yesterday at Sharjah.

Bairstow notches the highest score in T10 Cricket

Sunil Narine roared for the Bengal Tigers as the Caribbean star smashed 52 from 25 balls. He was extremely well supported by Sherfane Rutherford who scored 39 runs from just 17 balls. The Tigers posted 123/5 in their 10 overs.

The Knights lost their big guns like Gayle, Stirling, and Morgan early but the Englishman stood resolute. Jonny Bairstow struck a bludgeoning 84 from 24 balls and clinched the seven-wicket win with eight balls remaining.

Northern Warriors roll over Rajputs with ease

Northern Warriors bundled up Rajputs for just 64/8 in their 10 overs. Khary Pierre was the star of the night as he picked up 3/10 in his two overs. He was well supported by G Viljoen and Imran Haider. Qais Ahmed was the top-scorer with 19 not out.

Qais Ahmed shone with the ball as well. His double-wicket over revived some hopes but the target of 65 was too small by T10 cricket norms. Nicholas Pooran extended his domination and pulverized 45 from 18 balls to register the win.

Afghan power boosts Maratha Arabians to a win over Sindhis

The Afghan superstar, Rashid Khan, weaved his magic over the Sindhi batting lineup and returned with the figures of 3/15. Captain Shane Watson’s 46 from 28 balls helped the Sindhis post the first inning total of 98/4 in their 10 overs.

Najibullah Zadran stepped up with the bat for the Maratha Arabians as he smashed 60 runs from just 24 balls. Alex Hales provided the stability from the other end. The Arabians cruised to a nine-wicket win with 17 balls remaining.

At the end of the group stage, Northern Warriors finished at the top of the table with 10 points in their kitty. Pakhtoons came second with 8 points. Bengal Tigers and Maratha Arabians clinched the playoff berths with superior net run-rate. The playoffs will take place today and the final will be played on 2nd December, Sunday.

Leave a Reply