New Zealand vs India 2020, 2nd T20I: India Look to Build on The Advantage

India got off to a winning start in their first overseas tour in 2020 as they beat New Zealand by six wickets in the first T20I in Auckland. The New Zealand vs India 2020 2nd T20I will be played on January 26, Sunday. Courtesy their win in the first game, India have an upper hand going into this second game. The Indian batsmen rose up to the occasion as they chased down 204 needed for victory. Despite losing Rohit Sharma early, KL Rahul (56) along with Virat Kohli (45) added 99 of 59 balls. Both of them did not let the Kiwi bowlers settle down as they took them to the cleaners. Shreyas Iyer (59) then added 62 with Manish Pandey (14) to take India to a comprehensive win and hand over the advantage in the series.

Image result for Kohli-Rahul T20I
Photo Source: (

The action now moves onto the New Zealand vs India 2020 2nd T20I , with both teams having different agendas when they walk onto the field on Sunday. While Indian batsmen would want to replicate their performance that they came up with in the first game, their bowlers will try to limit the damage. Mohammad Shami and Shardul Thakur were particularly expensive conceding runs over 12 per over. Since this is a five-match series, it leaves a chance for other players to get a look in in the next game. Navdeep Saini might find a place in place of either Shami or Shardul. The management would also be tempted to play the duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Chahal, benching all-rounder Shivam Dube who scored just 13 in the first game besides giving runs above eight with the ball.

Also Read: IPL 2020 Captains: Leaders of All 8 Teams

Photo Source: (

New Zealand would not like to tinker with their playing combination as well just after one game. Their batsmen batted with intent to score over 200 runs after being sent into bat first, while their bowlers also bowled in good channels to restrict the Indian batsmen. Kane Williamson made a welcome return to the side with the skipper notching a half-century and joined Colin Munro and Ross Taylor in surpassing 50 with the latter ending unbeaten on 54 from just 27 deliveries. The onus will be again on the experienced duo to play a similar kind of role in the middle order. Colin Munro and Martin Guptill added 80 for the first wicket and would look to do the same again. 

Since it was an overall good game, both teams might play the same XI in the New Zealand vs India 2020 2nd T20I unless there is a last-minute injury scare. Jasprit Bumrah who fell badly on his ankle in the last match during his spell recovered quickly to complete it and looked out of trouble which is a great sign for India. 

The score was a very good example of the kind of pitch that was on offer in the first game. It was a drop-in pitch which assisted the batsman more than the bowlers. A similar kind of pitch can be expected in the New Zealand vs India 2020 2nd T20I as well with the game being played at the same venue. 

Also Read: New Zealand vs India 2020 1st T20I Preview

The ground dimensions was a point of debate before the start of the first game and it will continue to remain so. It is just 56 meters long straight with the side boundaries between 60 to 65 meters from all sides. Overall the ground is comparatively smaller from other grounds all-over the world. 


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(c), Tim Seifert(w), Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Hamish Bennett

India: Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli(c), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant(w), Washington Sundar, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sanju Samson, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Shivam Dube

Here are some interesting stats ahead of the New Zealand vs India 2020 2nd T20I in Auckland

1) The first game was the first instance of five players scoring 50 -plus scores in a T20I match C Munro 59, K Williamson 51, R Taylor54*, KL Rahul 56, S Iyer 58*

2) India have successfully chased down 200 plus totals four times, which is the most by any team. Once each by SA, NZ, WI, England, Bangladesh & Qatar.

3) Ish Sodhi has taken 47 wickets and needs 3 more to achieve the 50 wickets milestone.

4) Martin Guptill has taken 46 field catches and needs 4 more to reach the 50 field catches milestone.

5) Rohit Sharma (2640) is 94 short of overhauling Virat Kohli (2734) as the highest run-getter in T20Is.

Meanwhile, here is the Dream XI team for the second T20I.

Leave a Reply