Ind vs Ban 2nd T20I Preview: Bangladesh Eye Rare Record as India Look For Revenge in Rajkot

The India vs Bangladesh T20 Series 2019 was seen as India’s continuation towards their mission ICC T20 World Cup 2020 in Australia that started with the T20I series against West Indies followed by South Africa.

However, in the very first match of the series in Delhi, the Men in Blue faced a rather surprising defeat in the hands of their opponents. 148/6 never looked a big score to chase for the Bangla Tigers who successfully got to the score in the final over of the match.

Contributions from Mohammad Naim (26), Soumya Sarkar (39) and a certain Mushfiqur Rahim (60*) meant that India found themselves on a losing note at the end of the game in Delhi.

The Indian bowlers collectively failed to restrict the opposition batsmen from chasing down the total. None of the Indian spinners were able to purchase any turn or bounce of the wicket which was a rather unseen sight on a Delhi pitch. Barring Yuzvendra Chahal all the other bowlers went for an economy in excess of 6.

After India’s stand-in skipper Rohit Sharma reasoned the defeat to the lack of experience in the side, the focus now shifts to Rajkot where the second T20I is scheduled to be played today (7th November).

Image result for ind vs ban 2nd T20I
Picture Source: BCCI

With India finding themselves amid must-win situation in this game, there is a possibility that the management makes some changes in personnel. While there is a case for Sanju Samson to make his T20I debut an extra batsman in place of Shivam Dube might be the way to go ahead for India in this match. This means that the all-rounder might make way for Manish Pandey who is a good T20 batsman besides his prolific fielding abilities.

Also Read: Bangladesh Tour of India 2019-20 Schedule

Having said that, Rohit in the pre-match presser has said that he is looking to field the same XI as he did in the first match. He added that he expects players to learn from their mistakes and deliver accordingly in the second game.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, are buoyed by their success of beating India in the first time ever in the format. The closest they came to beating this team was in the 2016 WT20 semi-final where a certain MS Dhoni helped India save the blemishes.

Bangladesh's Mushfiqur Rahim, right, celebrates after wining first T20 cricket match against India.
Picture Source: AP

Having beaten them in Delhi, the Mahmudullah-led team is confident is doing the same again in the second game. Mushfiqur Rahim, the architect of their victory in the capital city of India said that they have nothing to lose in the series and victory is the only agenda they have in this series.

As per reports, Bangladesh too are not willing to tinker with their winning combintaion. The experience of Rahim, Sarkar and Mahmudullah are what the team is banking on to win them the game and the series.

Their bowlers led by Mustafizur Rahman did a good job in restricting India to a below-par total and will look to continue their good work.

With India having their backs on the wall and Bangladesh carrying all the momentum into this match, the Rajkot T20I is threatened by cyclone Maha which is expected to have a say in the proceedings of the game. Rain too, is expected to play a spoilsport in the contest as well. The pitch is expected to a batting-friendly one with plenty of runs in store for the batters of both sides.

Amid everything, Rohit Sharma is eyeing a personal milestone himself. With 99 T20Is to his name, he will become the very first Indian cricketer to play 100 T20Is when he takes the field in Rajkot. He will want to make it memorable by leading his team to a win and scoring some runs as well.

Probable Teams of India and Bangladesh for 2nd T20I

India Probable XI : Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Shivam Dube, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, K Khaleel Ahmed

Bangladesh Probable XI: Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Mushfiqur Rahim (w), Mahmudullah (c), Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain

Leave a Reply