Sports Monks

Ballon d’Or 2019: Where and Where to Watch and Nominations

Ballon d’Or 2019 Oris all set to take place on December 2 (Monday) with as many as 30 nominations for the award. This event is organized by France Football magazine and voted for by 180 journalists from around the world.

Croatia’s Luka Modric had won the award last year courtesy his exploits in taking his team to the World Cup final and winning the Champions League with Real Madrid. In the past decade, Messi and Ronaldo have won the award five times each.

Among the women footballers, Norway’s Ada Hegerberg won it in 2018 but will not retain her title after missing the World Cup. The women candidates are selected by 48 journalists. David Ginola will host the show in front of a star-studded audience. Messi is the favorite to win the award among the men’s category and Megan Rapino among the women. 

Also Read: Who will win the Ballon D’Or 2019- Messi, VVD, Ronaldo?

Here’s everything you need to know about Ballon d’Or 2019

Nominations for Men and Women category 


Sadio Mane (SEN/Liverpool), Sergio Aguero (ARG/Manchester City), Frenkie de Jong (NED/Barcelona), Hugo Lloris (FRA/Tottenham), Dusan Tadic (SER/Ajax), Kylian Mbappe (FRA/PSG), Trent Alexander-Arnold (ENG/Liverpool), Donny van de Beek (NED/Ajax), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (GAB/Arsenal), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (GER/Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus), Alisson (BRA/Liverpool), Matthijs de Ligt (NED/Juventus), Karim Benzema (FRA/Real Madrid), Georginio Wijnaldum (NED/Liverpool), Virgil van Dijk (NED/Liverpool), Bernardo Silva (POR/Manchester City), Son Heung-min (KOR/Tottenham), Robert Lewandowski (POL/Bayern Munich), Roberto Firmino (BRA/Liverpool), Lionel Messi (ARG/Barcelona), Riyad Mahrez (ALG/Manchester City), Kevin De Bruyne (BEL/Manchester City), Kalidou Koulibaly (SEN/Napoli), Antoine Griezmann (FRA/Barcelona), Mohamed Salah (EGY/Liverpool), Eden Hazard (BEL/Real Madrid), Marquinhos (BRA/Paris-SG), Raheem Sterling (ENG/Manchester City), Joao Félix(POR/Atletico Madrid)


Sam Kerr (AUS/Chelsea), Ellen White (ENG/Manchester City), Nilla Fischer (SWE/Linkopings), Amandine Henry (FRA/Lyon), Lucy Bronze(ENG/Lyon), Alex Morgan (USA/Orlando Pride), Vivianne Miedema (NED/Arsenal), Dzsenifer Marozsan (GER/Lyon), Pernille Harder (DEN/Wolfsburg), Sarah Bouhaddi (FRA/Lyon), Megan Rapinoe (USA/Reign FC), Lieke Martens (NED/Barcelona), Sari van Veenendal (NED/Atletico Madrid), Wendie Renard (FRA/Lyon), Rose Lavelle(USA/Washington Spirit), Marta (BRA/Orlando Pride), Ada Hegerberg (NOR/Lyon), Kosovare Asllani (SWE/CD Tacon), Sofia Jakobsson (SWE/CD Tacon), Tobin Heath (USA/Portland Thorns)

When to watch Ballon d’Or 2019?

The event will be held at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris on December 2 with the official ceremony starting around 19:30 GMT (1:00 AM, December 3, IST).

Where to watch Ballon d’Or 2019?

There is no confirmation of its television broadcast in India. However, the event will be shown live on beIN Sports in the US. 

Leave a Reply