Sports Monks

Full List of India’s Cricket Calendar in 2020

After dominating the world of cricket in the bygone decade (2010-2019), the Indian cricket team is all set to start a new decade aiming to maintain the domination. Year 2020 will be the first year of a new decade and the Indian cricket team have set their sights on winning the World T20 World Cup in Australia next year, which is the biggest cricketing event of the season. The Virat Kohli led team has been very consistent in the last three to four years and have won both at home and away. While the team was always known as a batting powerhouse, their bowlers have risen up the ranks in the last few years and have been key to their success.  India’s 2020 cricket calendar this year is an exciting one with the team playing good quality teams throughout the year.

With the Indian team stepping into a new year and decade, we take a look at India’s 2020 cricket calendar with all the detailed information and necessary inputs. 

Sri Lanka’s tour of India (5 to 10 January 2020)

Image result for Malinga-Kohli ODI"
Photo Source: ( )

India start their preparations for the World T20 in Australia later this year by hosting Sri Lanka for a three-match T20I series. This also start India’s 2020 cricket calendar. India have had the better of their neighbors in all formats overall and most importantly in T20I cricket. The T20I squads of both teams for the series have been announced. Both teams will see a couple of their experienced players return into the squad. While Shikhar Dhawan returns to the squad, vice-captain Rohit Sharma has been rested for the series. For Sri Lanka, Angelo Mathews returns to the side which will be led by Lasith Malinga. 


January 5, 1st T20I- Baraspara Stadium, Guwahati

January 7, 2nd T20I- Holkar Stadium, Indore

January 10, 3rd T20I- MCA Stadium, Pune

Australia’s tour of India (14 to 19 January 2020)

Image result for Finch-KOhli ODI toss"
Photo Source:(

After Sri Lanka, India hosts Australia between 14 to 19 January 2020 for a three-match series as India’s 2020 cricket calendar marches on. The series resumes the rivalry between Virat Kohli and Steve Smith as both batsmen as always will try to outscore each other. Cricket Australia has announced a competitive squad for the series. The Australian squad includes names like David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steve Smith, Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc who will pose problems for the Indian team in the series. The BCCI has also announced a full-strength squad for the series. Rohit Sharma will return to the side as the Indian top three pf Kohli, Sharma and Dhawan will lead the side with the bat. The bowling attack also looks good with the comeback of a fit-again Jasprit Bumrah who has recovered from his stress factor injury. 

Also Read: India’s schedule in the ICC World Test Championship


January 14, 1st ODI-Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

January 17, 2nd ODI- Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

January 19, 3rd ODI- M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

India’s tour of New Zealand (24 January to 4 March 2020)

Image result for Williamson-Kohli toss"
Photo Source: ( )

India’s tour to New Zealand between January and March will be the first away tour of India’s 2020 cricket calendar. This will be the first meeting between both teams since New Zealand’s win over India in the 2019 World Cup semifinal. The memories of India’s loss against the Kiwis in the semifinal will be still fresh in the minds of the Indian fans and therefore when India gets down to the shores, they would like to whitewash the Kiwis in a full-fledged tour. The series includes a five-match T20I series, followed by 3 ODI’s and 2 Test matches. 


January 24, 1st T20I- Eden Park, Auckland

January 26, 2nd T20I- Eden Park, Auckland

January 29, 3rd T20I- Seddon Park, Hamilton

January 31, 4th T20I- Westpac Stadium, Wellington

February 2, 5th T20I-Bay Oval, Mt Maunganui

February 5, 1st ODI-Seddon Park, Hamilton

February 8, 2nd ODI- Eden Park, Auckland

February 11, 3rd ODI- Bay Oval, Mt Maunganui

February 21, 1st Test- Westpac Stadium, Wellington

February 29, 2nd Test- Hagley Oval, Christchurch

South Africa tour to India (12 March-18 March 2020)

Image result for Kohli-Faf toss ODI"
Photo Source:(

After coming back from New Zealand, India will host South Africa for three ODIs, within seven days of the end of the second Test match against the Kiwis. India whitewashed South Africa in the three-match Test series played in India last year, however, this time both the teams will play a three-match ODI series.


March 12, 1st ODI- HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala

March 15, 2nd ODI- Atal Bihari Vajpayee Stadium, Lucknow

March 18, 3rd ODI-Eden Gardens, Kolkata

After the series against South Africa, India will tour Sri Lanka and will participate in the Asia Cup. The dates of both these events have not been confirmed as yet.  

Meanwhile, between March and May, India will host the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League which is speculated to be starting from March 29, as per a Delhi Capitals spokesperson. “I am told that the 2020 edition of the IPL will start on March 29 at Wankhede,” IANS quoted a Delhi Capitals official as saying. 

Also Read: IPL 2020: Predicted Line-Up Of RCB This Season

England’s tour of India (September – October 2020)

Image result for Morgan-Kohli toss"
Photo Source:(

World Champions England will tour India between September and October 2020 later this year to play a limited-overs series in India. The dates of this series has not been announced as yet. However, it is very evident that this will be closely contested series, considering the fact that England and the current 50-over World Cup champions and that they have punched above their weight in the limited-overs format in the last five years. India who reached the semi-finals of the 2019 World Cup in England lost a game against England before the semi-final loss against the Kiwis saw them make an exit from the tournament. 

ICC World T20 World Cup, Australia ( 45 T20 matches, 18 October-15 November)

The year’s greatest cricketing spectacle will be held in Australia between October and November later this year. Australia will host the seventh edition of the T20 world cup will be played over 45 T20I matches. Apart from the top 10 teams, six associate nations will also be participating in the event, making this a 16-team tournament.

India’s tour of Australia (November-December 2020)

Image result for Paine-Kohli toss"
Photo Source:(

The Indian team will tour Australia immediately after the T20 World Cup. India will play 4 Tests and 3 ODIs against the Aussies, the dates of which are yet to be confirmed. The completion of the tour will also mark and end to India’s 2020 cricket calendar. The home series against England and the away series against Australia are expected to be two of the toughest series India plays this year.

Also Read: IPL 2020: Predicted Line-Up Of KXIP This Season

The Indian cricket team thus has a competitive season of cricket lined up where they play against tough oppositions. The outcomes against New Zealand, England and Australia will decide if the Indian cricket team has advanced with time or is it still dependent on their senior players to get the job done.

Leave a Reply