Sports Monks

Qatar T10 League: Key Players to Watch in All 6 Teams

Qatar T10 League 2019 Points Table & Team Standings

The Qatar T10 League is the next 10-over cricketing extravaganza that is all set to amaze the cricket fans. Qatar’s Asian Town Stadium will be the venue which will host a total of 18 matches including the final on 16 December. The Qatar T10 League will feature 6 teams over 10 day period in an exciting tournament. 

As per the rules of the tournament decided by the board, Each team will consist of 15 members (1 ICON player + 3 Overseas professionals + 3 Associate member country players + 8 Qatar resident or registered players). Each team will play a minimum of 5 matches in a single round-robin league format with the top four teams after the league stage to qualify for the semifinals.

Let’s have a look at the Key Players from each team in the Qatar T10 League. 

Falcon Hunters

Hashim Amla

Amla led the Karnataka Tuskers in the recently concluded Abu Dhabi T10 League. However, his team failed to make it to the knockouts, Amla produced a few good knocks with the bat. For the Hunters as well, he will be the fulcrum in their batting line-up and is expected to anchor the innings with the other batters playing around him. He announced international retirement after the 2019 World Cup held in England earlier this year.

Salman Butt

Related image
Photo Source ( )

Butt was one of the most promising left-handers to play for Pakistan until the point he was banned by the ICC with match-fixing charges in 2009. Since then, Butt has been out of the national team. However, in this tournament for the Hunters, Butt who is now an experienced and a senior cricketer will look to bat along with Amla and give his team a good start whether batting first or chasing. 

Also Read: Qatar T10 League 2019 Schedule

Johnson Charles

Image result for Johnson Charles
Photo Source ( )

Charles was recently a part of the Karnataka Tuskers as well in the T10 League and formed a good batting partnership with Amla. For the Hunters in the Qatar T10 League, his role remains the same if he opens the batting. In case he is sent at number three, he is expected to throw his bat at everything with the game being just 10 overs per-side.

Flying Oryx

Andrew Fletcher

Fletcher was a part of the Bangla Tigers in the recently concluded Abu Dhabi T10 League. Fresh from his success, he was roped in by the management of Flying Oryx. A top-order batsman and a wicketkeeper Fletcher is expected to open the innings and give his team good starts. One of the few recognized players, Fletcher is one of the most experienced players of the shorter format as well as having played in various T20 leagues across the world. 

Krishmar Santokie

Image result for Krishmar Santokie
Photo Source: ( )

A clever operator with the ball in the shorter versions of the game, Santokie is one of the many West Indies players who will play in the tournament. Santokie has been a part of the IPL previously for Mumbai Indians in 2014 when he picked up five wickets in the season. He has played for Jamaica Tallawahs and Guyana Amazon Warriors in the CPL where he proved his worth for the franchises.

Pearl Gladiators

Muhammad Irfan

Image result for Muhammad Irfan
Photo Source ( )

The tall lanky seven-footer is one of the tallest cricketers to have ever played the game of cricket. Irfan who has played 60 ODIs and 4 Tests so far for Pakistan will lead this bowling heavy outfit named the Pearl Gladiators. With his ability to swing the ball both sides, the opposition batters will find it tough to handle. Irfan is not a part of the Pakistan national team regularly since the 2016 T20 World Cup that was held in India.

Mohammad Sami 

Image result for Mohammad Sami
Photo Source: ( )

Sami is another of Pakistan’s veteran pacers who will be Irfan’s bowling partner from the other end. Sami who last played for Pakistan in the World T20 2016 has been playing franchise T20 tournaments across the world. He has played 36 Tests, 87 ODIs and 13 T20Is for Pakistan. Sami has played beside the likes of Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Shoiab Akhtar in the 2003 World Cup.

Ajantha Mendis

Image result for Ajantha Mendis
(Photo Source: AP)

Ajantha Mendis made his debut in international cricket in 2008 and made his mark in the very first tournament which was the Asia Cup. He picked 17 wickets in the tournament with a best of 6/13 against India. Mendis will look to weave his magic around the opposition batsmen with him being the lead spinner in the team. 

Thus Irfan, Sami and Mendis form a formidable trio for the Gladiators making them the best bowling unit in the tournament. 

Heat Stormers

Manpreet Singh Gony

Related image
Photo Source: ( )

Gony was one of the discoveries of former Indian skipper MS Dhoni in the Indian Premier League who made it through to the Indian national team. After being away from the game all this while, Gony is making a comeback into the game via the Qatar T10 League. He is the icon player of the Heat Stormers who will also lead the bowling outfit. He announced his international retirement a few years ago to play franchise T20 cricket leagues all around the world.

Mohammad Shahzad

Image result for Mohammad Shahzad T10 League
Photo Source ( )

The Afghanistan wicketkeeper-batsman made a big statement of his abilities with the bat in the recently concluded Abu Dhabi T10 League. The Qatar T10 League is another opportunity for him to repeat his heroics for the Stormers. Shahzad finished with 169 runs from 9 games striking at 213.92 throughout the tournament. As a top-order batsman for the Stormers, the responsibility of run-scoring will be on his shoulders. 

Also Read: Qatar T10 League 2019 Teams, Squad & Players List

Swift Gallopers

Imran Nazir

Related image
Photo Source ( )

Pakistan opener Imran Nazir is the icon player for the Gallopers who will open the innings for his side. A naturally attacking batsman in the T20I format, his approach in the T-10 format will be interesting to watch. Between 2007 and 2012 he played 25 T20Is for the Pakistan national cricket team. He was also a part of Pakistan’s 2009 World T20 squad which won the title under Shahid Afridi. 

Luke Wright

Image result for Luke Wright
Photo Source: (ECB Official Website)

Wright is expected to partner Nazir at the top. Both dynamic batsmen who play with a naturally aggressive attitude, the duo forms a lethal opening combination for their team. If both of them get going, bowlers will find it tough to stop the run flow. Wright too is a well-travelled T20 cricketer and is getting good at his game everyday. He will bring a lot of experience and match awareness to the table for his team. 

Desert Riders

Sohail Tanveer

Related image
Photo Source: ( )

Pakistan pacer Sohail Tanveer is the icon player for the desert riders. His unique bowling action makes him of difficult bowlers to face in the world of cricket. It was in the IPL that the world so Sohail Tanveer prosper. He took 6/18 in the very first edition of the IPL for the Rajasthan Royals which was a record for many years in the tournament. Tanveer with his unique action and experience behind his back can prove to be a handful for the opposition batsmen. 

Oshane Thomas

Image result for Oshane Thomas
Photo: ICC Official Website)

Thomas is one of the promising youngsters in West Indies cricket. Having made his international debut in 2018, Thomas also earned himself an IPL contract with Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2019. A bowler with raw pace, Thomas grabbed the eyeballs with his performance in the Caribbean Premier League. He picked up 18 wickets in the 2018 CPL season and backed it with 10 more in CPL 2019. The T10 League gives him another platform to showcase his talent to the world. Playing alongside some reputed names in T20 cricket, Thomas will only learn and grow wiser. 

Leave a Reply