Pakistan’s Probable 16-member Test Squad for Sri Lanka Tour | Sportsmonks

Pakistan’s Probable 16-member Test Squad for Sri Lanka Tour

Pakistan’s Test Squad for Sri Lanka Tour

Pakistan is expected to announce their 16-member Test squad on Saturday for the upcoming two-match series against Sri Lanka in July.

There are a few exciting prospects who may receive their maiden Test call-up, namely Omair Yousuf and Mohammad Huraira. These young talents have shown impressive performances recently and are likely to be given an opportunity in the Test format.

Omair Yousuf, a 24-year-old batsman, had an outstanding outing during Pakistan Shaheens’ tour of Zimbabwe. He topped the batting charts with 348 runs from three innings, including his highest first-class score of 250 not out in the first four-day match. On the other hand, Mohammad Huraira, who has featured in 24 first-class matches, finished second on the batting charts with 242 runs from two innings, boasting an impressive average of 121. Their consistent performances have caught the attention of the selectors, leading to their potential Test call-ups.

Another player likely to make his Test debut is all-rounder Aamir Jamal. His consistent performances in domestic cricket have earned him recognition, and he is expected to be part of the Test squad. Meanwhile, veteran wicketkeeper Sarfaraz Ahmed and pacer Hassan Ali will retain their places in the squad, providing the team with valuable experience.

However, there are a few players who might face exclusion from the squad. Mir Hamza, Zahid Mahmood, and Mohammad Wasim Jr. are the players who are likely to be dropped from the Test squad for the series against Sri Lanka.

The training camp for the upcoming tour will be set up in Karachi during the first week of July. The players will have an opportunity to fine-tune their skills and prepare themselves for the challenges ahead.

Squad: Babar Azam (C), Abdullah Shafique, Shan Masood, Imam ul Haq, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Nauman Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Abrar Ahmed, Muhammad Huraira/Omair Bin Yousuf, Aamer Jamal, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Hassan Ali.

Source:- The Indian Express

Leave a Reply