BBL 09 Knockout: Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder Preview

Adelaide Strikers will play Sydney Thunder in the BBL 09 knockout game on Saturday, February 1 after the latter beat Hobart Hurricanes by 57 runs in the Eliminator to book a place in the knockout. Alex Hales (60) and Usman Khawaja (54) made meaningful contributions with the bat to take the Thunders to 197/5. Their bowlers led by Johnathan Cook then bowled out the Hurricanes for 140 to won the match by 57 runs. Cook took four wickets as Daniel Sams and Chris Morris took two and three each.

This sets up the knockout match beautifully as the winner of this BBL 09 knockout will go on to play in the Challenger game on February 6. Having won the Eliminator, the Thunders will be full of confidence heading into the knockout game. They put together a commendable performance in the Eliminator with all their key players performing. In the Knockout, they will be aiming to replicate their performance.

Also Read: BBL 09 Qualifier: Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Sixers Preview

Image result for Khawaj-Hales BBL 09"
Photo Source: (

Thunder’s approach with the bat especially was very positive with Hales and Khawaja batting with utmost domination in their opening stand to kill the game then and there for the opposition. Their bowlers then backed up their batsmen as they choked the opposition for runs and finally bowled them out was short of their target. They will look to field the same XI that won the qualifier against the Strikers in the BBL 09 Knockout. 

Image result for Adelaide Strikers  BBL 09"
Photo Source: (

The Adelaide Strikers, meanwhile, are on a winning run having won four matches out of their last five. Led by Travis Head, the Strikers have some of the best T20 players in their ream including Cameron White, Rashid Khan, Alex Carey and tall lanky pacer Billy Stanlake. They also have Peter Siddle, one of the most experienced pacers in Australian ranks in their team.

Thus, its a match-up between two quality sides, who can beat any opposition on any given day. The match will also be played at the Adelaide Oval, which is the best batting wicket in Australia. Moreover, the Adelaide wicket is a drop in pitch since 2013. Home ground to the Adelaide Strikers in the BBL, the stadium will host seven matches including the second semi-final of World T20 later this year. 

Meanwhile, in the five T20Is played at this venue, three have been won by the team batting first. Both teams have met twice so far this season with the first game abandoned due to rain and the Thunders winning the return fixture at the Adelaide Oval. 

Also Read: IPL 2020 All-Star Match: All Details Revealed


Adelaide Strikers

Travis Head (c), Wes Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Harry Conway, Rashid Khan, Jake Lehmann, Michael Neser, Harry Nielsen, Liam O’Connor, Phil Salt, Matt Short, Peter Siddle, Billy Stanlake, Cameron Valente, Jake Weatherald, Jon Wells, Cameron White, Nick Winter

Sydney Thunder

Callum Ferguson (c), Jonathan Cook, Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales, Usman Khawaja, Jay Lenton, Nathan McAndrew, Chris Morris, Arjun Nair, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, Chris Tremain

Photo Source: (

Meanwhile, the road to the finals also has been revealed. The Eliminator was played between Sydney Thunder and Hobart Hurricanes on Thursday, which was won by the Thunder. The Melbourne Stars and Sydney Sixers play the Qualifier on Friday. The Thunder courtesy of their win against Hurricanes in the Eliminator will play the BBL09 knockout against Adelaide Strikers on Saturday, February 1. Then the Challenger game will be played by the loser of the qualifier and the winner of the knockout on February 06. The final of BBL 09 will be played on Saturday, February 08 between the winner of the Qualifier and the winner of the Challenger.

Leave a Reply