Bundesliga Legends: Top XI Fan-Voted Icons


The Bundesliga, a league steeped in history and tradition, celebrated its 60th anniversary on August 24, 2023. To commemorate this milestone, fans were given the opportunity to vote for the top XI players who have left an indelible mark on the league over the past six decades. The result is a stellar lineup that reflects the talent, skill, and impact of these footballing legends.

Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer (803 points)

Revolutionizing the Goalkeeping Position:
Manuel Neuer, a true icon of the game, emerged as the chosen goalkeeper for the all-time Bundesliga XI. Hailing from Gelsenkirchen, Neuer’s career soared with Schalke before achieving unparalleled success with Bayern Munich. Renowned for his revolutionary sweeper-keeper style, Neuer’s influence on modern football tactics is immeasurable. With 18 seasons in the Bundesliga, the 37-year-old captain boasts an impressive record, including 11 consecutive German top-flight titles and over 330 wins.


1. Philipp Lahm (844 points):

  • Mr. Versatile: Lahm’s footballing intelligence and versatility made him an outstanding figure for Bayern. Rising through the youth ranks, Lahm played 517 senior competitive games for the club, winning 21 titles, including eight Bundesliga crowns.

2. Franz Beckenbauer (783 points):

  • Der Kaiser’s Dominance: Beckenbauer, elegance personified on the field, led Bayern through their most dominant era in European football. A formidable defender turned captain, he secured four Bundesliga titles and captained the team to three consecutive European Cup wins in the 1970s.

3. Mats Hummels (744 points):

  • Composed Defender: Hummels, a Bundesliga title winner with Bayern and Borussia Dortmund, is known for his composed playing style. With over 430 appearances and a knack for scoring, Hummels continues to leave an indelible mark on German football.


1. Arjen Robben (871 points):

  • Dutch Dynamo: Robben’s arrival at Bayern in 2009 marked the beginning of a memorable decade in the Bundesliga. With 99 goals and 62 assists in 201 games, his dazzling sprints, ball control, and finishing prowess played a pivotal role in Bayern’s eight Bundesliga titles during his tenure.

2. Bastian Schweinsteiger (872 points):

  • Midfield Maestro: Given his debut at Bayern at 18, Schweinsteiger evolved into the best midfielder in the world, as acknowledged by legendary coach Jupp Heynckes. A stalwart for 17 years, he contributed to Bayern’s 20 club titles, including eight Bundesliga championships.

3. Thomas Müller (831 points):

  • Raumdeuter Extraordinaire: Affectionately known as the Space Invader, Müller has been the face and spirit of Bayern for 16 Bundesliga seasons. With a record 12 Bundesliga titles, 145 goals, and 200 assists, he continues to bring his infectious personality to club and country.

4. Franck Ribéry (846 points):

  • French Magician: Ribéry’s time at Bayern saw him mesmerize fans with his skills down the left flank. Winning nine Bundesliga titles and a UEFA Best Player in Europe award, Ribéry’s impact on Bayern’s domestic and continental success is unforgettable.


1. Robert Lewandowski (845 points):

  • Prolific Pole: Lewandowski, one of the greatest strikers, boasts a remarkable record of 312 goals in 384 Bundesliga games. Winning 10 top-flight titles, including the Torjägerkanone seven times, he stands as one of the Bundesliga’s all-time great goal-scorers.

2. Gerd Müller (844 points):

  • Der Bomber’s Legacy: Gerd Müller’s goal-scoring feats remain unparalleled, with 365 Bundesliga goals making him the league’s all-time leading scorer. A Ballon d’Or winner in 1970, Müller’s slippery style and incredible eye for goal solidify his place among the greats.

3. Miroslav Klose (806 points):

  • Record Goal-Scorer: Germany’s all-time top marksman, Klose’s 121 goals in 307 Bundesliga games showcase his prowess in front of goal. Winning two league and cup doubles with Bayern, Klose’s impact extended beyond scoring, as he also excelled as an assist provider.

Next Five Players per Position:


  • Oliver Kahn (749 points)
  • Marc-André ter Stegen (747 points)
  • Sepp Maier (741 points)
  • Kevin Trapp (688 points)
  • Jens Lehmann (678 points)


  • Lucio (737 points)
  • Matthias Sammer (726 points)
  • Jürgen Kohler (709 points)
  • David Alaba (704 points)
  • Per Mertesacker (703 points)


  • Toni Kroos (829 points)
  • Lothar Matthäus (801 points)
  • Marco Reus (769 points)
  • Kevin de Bruyne (743 points)
  • Mehmet Scholl (718 points)


  • Rudi Völler (797 points)
  • Uwe Seeler (770 points)
  • Lukas Podolski (761 points)
  • Erling Haaland (759 points)
  • Claudio Pizarro (747 points)

How the Voting Worked:

Fans were asked to rank each player from 1 to 5, with 5 being the highest. The percentage share was multiplied by the respective number of points, and the values were added together. Both German and international votes on bundesliga.com were considered, resulting in the final points for each player.

In summary, the Bundesliga’s 60th anniversary celebration brought forth a remarkable XI that pays homage to the league’s rich history and the players who have graced its fields over the past six decades. These footballing legends, chosen by the fans, represent the epitome of skill, talent, and enduring impact in German football.

For More Related Updates Please Visit Our Official Website
By- Sahiba Suri

Leave a Reply