Big Bash League (BBL) 2019-20 Points Table & Teams Standing

Big Bash League 2019-20 Points Table & Teams Standings

Big Bash League is one of the biggest league in Australia it’s organized by Cricket Australia. Each Year Many International Players gather to play this league. It’s Started in 16th December 2011. This tournament gathered so much popularity and new comers getting chance to International Team after playing this tournament.

All the 8 participating teams of Big Bash League 2019-20 will be fighting it out to get as high on the BBL Points Table as soon possible and qualify for the BPL playoffs. Check out the below given updated BBL Points Table 2019-20:-

Big Bash League 2019-20 Points Table & Team Standings

Teams M W L T NR Pts NRR
Melbourne Stars 14 10 4 0 0 20 0.526
Sydney Sixers 14 9 4 0 1 19 0.269
Adelaide Strikers 14 8 5 0 1 17 0.564
Hobart Hurricanes 14 6 7 0 1 13 -0.355
Sydney Thunder 14 6 7 0 1 13 -0.446
Perth Scorchers 14 6 8 0 0 12 -0.023
Brisbane Heat 14 6 8 0 0 12 -0.241
Melbourne Renegades 14 3 11 0 0 6 -0.385
  • M: The number of matches played
  • W: The number of matches won
  • L: The number of matches lost
  • T: The number of matches tied
  • D: The number of matches draw
  • N/R: The number of matches abandoned
  • PT: Number of points awarded

Also Read: Big Bash League 2019-20 Schedule

Last Update: 28th January 2020

All the 8 participating teams will play 59 matches (56 playoff matches, two semi-finals, and the final) in around 2 months to win the title of 2019-20 Big Bash League.

All 8 participating teams of Big Bash League (BBL) will be involved in a double round-robin stage, which means that each team will play every other team twice, once at home and once away in the playoff round, and top 4 teams progress to the qualifying round. The league stage will begin on 17 December 2019 and will go on till 27 January 2020.

BBL 2019-20 Knockouts/Playoffs:

The BBL playoffs will be similar to the IPL, with a some addition. The tournament allows the 5th team on the Big Bash League standings to participate in the knockout stages as well. The Eliminator will see the 4th and 5th position teams fight it out. There will be 2 Qualifiers which will see the first two teams try to get to the final quickly.

The second one will see the third placed team play the winner of the Eliminator. It will be followed by the ‘Challenger’ which will see the loser of the Qualifier play against the winner of the 2nd Qualifier to find a place in the Final. Therefore, the primary aim of all teams will be to find a place in the top 5 of the Big Bash points table and get a place in the playoffs.

BBL 2019-20 Playoff Matches Rules:

  • If any of the Final, the Eliminator, Qualifier 1 or Qualifier 2 matches are tied, or there is no result then The teams shall compete in a Super Over to determine which team is the winner of the match.
  • If conditions do not permit a Super Over within the time available to determine the winner or if the Super Over is tied then the team which finished in the higher position in the League table will be the winner of the play-off match.

Who won the Big Bash League 2018-19 Title?

Melbourne Renegades had won this title after defeating Melbourne Stars at the Marvel Stadium. The match was very exciting Melbourne Renegades played and scored 145 runs and challenge Melbourne Stars to achieve this target but unfortunately Melbourne Stars were not able to achieve that target and lost by just 13 runs.

Most runs in the BBL 2018-19: D’Arcy Short (637 Runs)
Most wickets in the BBL 2018-19: Kane Richardson (24 Wickets)

Who won the Big Bash League 2019-20 Title?

The Big Bash League 2019-20 Final was held on 8th Feb 2020 at Sydney Cricket Ground (Sydney) between Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne Stars.

The Final Match of BBL 2019-20 was reduced to 12 overs because of rain and Melbourne Stars won the toss and invited Sydney Sixers to Bat first. Sydney Sixers scored 116/5 in total 12 overs, most runs scored in Sydney Sixers by Josh Philippe (wk) 52 (29) with the strike rate of 179.31.
When Melbourne Stars came to Bat their starting were not so good and they lost early wickets somehow Nick Larkin tried their best to win that match for their team but in the last Melbourne Stars lost the match by 21 Runs.

Most runs in the BBL 2019-20: Marcus Stoinis (Melbourne Stars) (705)
Most wickets in the BBL 2019-20: Daniel Sams (Sydney Thunder) (30)

Leave a Reply