All You Need To Know About IPL 2020 Mid-Season Transfer

The 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League [IPL] has been a mouth-watering affair thus far. With all the eight franchises being closely matched, we have witnessed fiercely contested encounters thus far. While some franchises have been able to find their right combination, others are still searching for their best possible XI.

With the franchises carrying an extended squad, there are a lot of players who haven’t yet got an opportunity to showcase their skills in the Dream11 IPL thus far.

IPL 2020, IPL
IPL Trophy. (Credits: BCCI)

And, they might not get a chance throughout the season, given the fact that their current franchise has established names for a specific position. For example, Delhi Capitals Ajinkya Rahane is unlikely to get an opportunity considering DC already has the likes of Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw at the top of the order.

Rahane can be an ideal foil for the franchisees who are struggling for a potent opening option. This is why the mid-season transfer is such a brilliant concept to further spice things up in the IPL.

What is the mid-season transfer in IPL 2020?

Unlike last season, where the BCCI allowed the franchises to internally trade uncapped players, the offer has now been extended for capped players as well.

What are the rules and timings of mid-season transfer?

  • The transfer will only be applicable at the half-way mark after each of the 8 franchises had played 7 matches each.
  • A player is only eligible for transfer if he had played no more than two matches at that stage.

Who are the players from each of the 8 teams who are eligible for the mid-season transfer?

Mumbai Indians: 

Aditya Tare, Anukul Roy, Mitchell McClenaghan, Chris Lynn, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Saurabh Tiwary, Mohsin Khan, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jayant Yadav, Sherfane Rutherford

Kings XI Punjab: 

Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Murugan Ashwin, Deepak Hooda, Ishan Porel, Chris Jordan, Simran Singh, Tajinder Singh, Arshdeep Singh, Darshan Nalkhande, Krishnappa Gowtham, Hardus Viljoen, Chris Gayle, Harpreet Brar, Jagadeesha Suchith, Mandeep Singh

Kolkata Knight Riders: 

Tom Banton, Nikhil Naik, Ali Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Rinku Singh, Sandeep Warrier, Siddhesh Lad, Chris Green, M Siddharth

Rajasthan Royals:

Varun Aaron, Kartik Tyagi, Oshane Thomas, Aniruddha Joshi, Andrew Tye, Akash Singh, Anuj Rawat, Yashaswi Jaiswal, Mayank Markande, Ankit Rajpoot, Manan Vohra, Mahipal Lomroor, Shashank Singh

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Josh Philippe, Chris Morris, Dale Steyn, Shahbaz Ahamad, Pavan Deshpande, Adam Zampa, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Moeen Ali, Mohammed Siraj, Parthiv Patel, Pawan Negi, Umesh Yadav

Chennai Super Kings:

KM Asif, Imran Tahir, Narayan Jagadeesan, Karn Sharma, Mitchell Santner, Monu Kumar, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shardul Thakur, R Sai Kishore, Josh Hazlewood

Delhi Capitals: 

Ajinkya Rahane, Keemo Paul, Sandeep Lamicchane, Alex Carey, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Ishant Sharma, Lalit Yadav, Daniel Sams, Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Sharma.

SunRisers Hyderabad:

Shreevats Goswami, Siddharth Kaul, Wriddhiman Saha, Vijay Shankar, Virat Singh, Bavanaka Sandeep, Fabien Allen, Sanjay Yadav, Basil Thampi, Billy Stanlake, Mohammad Nabi, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem

Leave a Reply