Patel and Seifert Among New Zealand A Squad for Australia Tour | Sportsmonks

Patel and Seifert Among New Zealand A Squad for Australia Tour

An upcoming tour of Australia by the New Zealand A squad features the inclusion of seven internationally experienced players.

Ajaz Patel and Tim Seifert are two of the seven players with international caps who have been selected for the New Zealand A tour of Australia.

The squad, also comprised of Black Caps representatives such as Tom Bruce, Jacob Duffy, and Scott Kuggeleijn, along with recent debutants Adi Ashok and Dean Foxcroft, is scheduled to engage in a mix of matches involving both red and white balls against a formidable Australia A lineup.

The initial of the two four-day matches is set to commence in Brisbane on Monday, followed by three 50-over matches distributed between Brisbane and Mackay.

New Zealand A Squad vs Australia A: Muhammad Abbas, Adi Ashok, Tom Bruce (c), Leo Carter, Josh Clarkson, Henry Cooper, Jacob Duffy, Cam Fletcher, Dean Foxcroft, Mitch Hay, Scott Kuggeleijn, Will O’Rourke, Ajaz Patel, Michael Rae, Brett Randell, Tim Seifert, Sean Solia

Patel, recognized for his 14 appearances in New Zealand’s Test matches and his outstanding 10-119 figures against India in 2021, will be available for the four-day contests. Meanwhile, Seifert, the most seasoned international in the squad with 49 appearances for New Zealand, will join the team for the last two one-day matches.

This year marks the second instance of Australia and New Zealand’s top fringe players facing off, following Australia’s visit to New Zealand in April for two four-day matches.

Noteworthy Performances in Aus A Series against Kiwis
Kuggeleijn led in wickets across both teams with nine, while Matthew Renshaw excelled with the bat for Australia A, amassing 332 runs at an average of 83.

Brendon Donkers, coach of Canterbury, will lead the New Zealand A side in Australia, with the departure scheduled for Thursday.

Donkers expressed his enthusiasm, stating, “From a Kiwi perspective, any opportunity to play against Australia is a moment to relish. Having high-caliber squads on both sides promises competitive cricket.”

“We’re excited to have current and recent Black Caps joining us, along with emerging talents rewarded for their domestic performances,” Donkers added.

“Australia A also features many players with international experience, so we anticipate a high-quality contest similar to the recent series in New Zealand in March.”

Voges Takes the Helm for Australia A as Paine Assumes Coaching Role
Renshaw is poised to participate in the one-day matches, while opener Cameron Bancroft will partake in the four-day fixtures, allowing him a chance to impress before the upcoming Test opener’s spot becomes available due to David Warner’s absence.

The robust 50-over squad assembled by Australia includes notable players such as Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Ashton Turner, and Matt Short, along with the reigning KFC BBL player of the tournament, Todd Murphy.

Heading the team is Adam Voges, coach of Western Australia and the Perth Scorchers, while former Test captain Tim Paine is set to assist Voges in the initial four-day match.

Australia A vs New Zealand A Series
First Four-Day Match: August 28-31, Allan Border Field

Second Four-Day Match: September 4-7, Great Barrier Reef Arena (Day/Night)

Australia A Four-Day Squad: Wes Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jordan Buckingham, Ben Dwarshuis, Caleb Jewell, Campbell Kellaway, Matthew Kelly, Matthew Kuhnemann, Nathan McAndrew, Nathan McSweeney, Joel Paris, Jimmy Peirson, Mitch Perry, Josh Philippe, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, Tim Ward

First One-Day Match: September 10, Great Barrier Reef Arena

Second One-Day Match: September 13, Allan Border Field (Day/Night)

Third One-Day Match: September 15, Allan Border Field

Australia A One-Day Squad: Wes Agar, Ollie Davies, Ben Dwarshuis, Liam Hatcher, Matthew Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Ben McDermott, Todd Murphy, Josh Philippe, Matthew Renshaw, Gurinder Sandhu, Matt Short, Mark Steketee, Will Sutherland, Ashton Turner

By- Sahiba Suri

Leave a Reply