City Quintet Shine: PFA Team of the Year | Sportsmonks

City Quintet Shine: PFA Team of the Year

City Quintet Shine: PFA Team of the Year

Five Manchester City players have been named in the 2022/23 Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Premier League Team of the Year, a testament to their exceptional performances in what was a remarkable season for the club. John Stones, Ruben Dias, Kevin De Bruyne, Rodrigo, and Erling Haaland have all been selected for this prestigious annual XI, a recognition voted for by their fellow professionals.

This impressive achievement underscores the pivotal roles these players played in Manchester City’s triumphant campaign, during which the club clinched an astonishing Treble of the Premier League, Champions League, and FA Cup. The contributions of each of these five individuals were crucial to the team’s success across various competitions.

John Stones, who has been chosen for the PFA Team of the Year for the second time, had an outstanding season that saw him take on a versatile role within the squad. He seamlessly transitioned between defense, central midfield, and attack, showcasing his adaptability and tactical acumen. With Stones in the starting XI, Manchester City did not suffer a single defeat after the World Cup, securing 17 wins and four draws from 21 matches across all competitions.

Another familiar face in the PFA Team of the Year is Ruben Dias, who was also named for the second time. Dias proved to be a rock in the heart of the defense, excelling in thwarting opponents’ threats while also demonstrating his prowess in ball distribution. Notably, he made the second-highest number of passes in both the Premier League and Champions League.

In a breakthrough moment, City midfielder Rodrigo earned his place in the PFA XI for the first time. Rodrigo’s contributions were highlighted by his unforgettable match-winning goal in the Champions League final against Inter. Widely regarded as one of the best holding midfielders globally, his presence and impact were undeniable throughout the season.


The inclusion of Kevin De Bruyne in the Team of the Year marked his fifth appearance, showcasing his consistent excellence as one of football’s premier talents. De Bruyne’s playmaking abilities were on full display, as he delivered an impressive 28 assists across all competitions. This tally surpassed that of any other player from Europe’s top five leagues, with Lionel Messi coming in second with 20 assists.

Erling Haaland, who was also named the PFA Players’ Player of the Year, capped off a phenomenal debut season at the Etihad with a record-breaking achievement. His incredible performance saw him score an astounding 52 goals in all competitions, including a historic 36 goals in a single Premier League campaign.

Txiki Begiristain, Director of Football at Manchester City, expressed his pride at the recognition received by these players. He acknowledged the significance of being selected by fellow professionals and highlighted the exceptional contributions of the entire squad to the club’s success. Begiristain emphasized the players’ hunger and dedication to bringing success to Manchester City, traits that were evident not only in the previous season but also in the early stages of the current one.

This achievement of having five players named in the PFA Team of the Year serves as a testament to Manchester City’s collective excellence and the remarkable talents of John Stones, Ruben Dias, Kevin De Bruyne, Rodrigo, and Erling Haaland. Their remarkable contributions on the field have brought glory to the club and solidified their places among football’s elite performers.

For more related updates , visit our official website .

By- Sahiba Suri

Leave a Reply