2024 Under-19 Men's Cricket World Cup: A Preview | Sportsmonks

2024 Under-19 Men’s Cricket World Cup: A Preview


The upcoming 2024 Under-19 Men’s World Cup promises to be a thrilling cricket spectacle, featuring young talents from across the globe. Let’s delve into the key details and changes in this edition.

1. Tournament Schedule and Hosts:

  • The action kicks off on January 19, with the USA facing Ireland and South Africa taking on West Indies. The final is scheduled for February 11.
  • South Africa is hosting the tournament, with matches spread across Potchefstroom, Bloemfontein, Benoni, Kimberley, and East London. The crucial semi-finals and final will be held in Benoni.

2. Change in Hosts:

  • Originally slated to be held in Sri Lanka, the ICC shifted the venue to South Africa due to the suspension of Sri Lanka Cricket in November. This marks South Africa’s third time hosting the tournament.

3. Format Modification:

  • A tweak in the format sees a shift to the structure used in the last Under-19 Women’s World Cup. The 16 teams are divided into groups, with the top three from each advancing to the Super Sixes stage. The top two from each group in the Super Sixes progress to the semi-finals.

4. Qualification Process:

  • Sri Lanka retained host qualification rights despite the venue change, and Full Member nations from the previous edition secured automatic qualification. Regional qualifiers determined the other five participating teams.

5. Teams and Players to Watch:

  • All participating teams have prior Under-19 World Cup experience. USA, making their third appearance, is the least experienced.
  • Key players include India’s Arshin Kulkarni, New Zealand’s Rahman Hekmat, Pakistan’s Ubaid Shah, Afghanistan’s Allah Mohammad Ghazanfar, and England’s Luc Benkenstein.

6. Notable Family Connections:

  • Several players have family ties in cricket, adding intrigue to the tournament. Notable examples include Ubaid Shah (brother of Naseem Shah), Mohammad Nabi’s son, Rashid Khan’s nephew (both representing Afghanistan), and Luc Benkenstein (son of Dale Benkenstein).

7. Defending Champions and Past Winners:

  • India, led by Yash Dhull, secured victory in the 2022 edition by defeating England in the final. India is the most successful team, winning the tournament five times.
  • Australia has three titles, Pakistan has two, while Bangladesh, South Africa, West Indies, and England have each won once.

8. Absence of DRS:

  • While there will be a TV umpire for every game, the Decision Review System (DRS) will not be in play during the tournament.

In summary, the 2024 Under-19 Men’s World Cup promises an exciting blend of talent, family legacies, and the unpredictability of youthful cricket. With a revised format and the relocation to South Africa, the tournament is set to captivate cricket enthusiasts worldwide.

For More Related Updates Please Visit Our Official Website
By- Sahiba Suri

Leave a Reply