ICC World Test Championship 2019-21- Top Things you should know about World Cup of Test Cricket

Icc World Test Championship 2019-21

In an attempt to make test cricket a popular phenomena across the masses, the ICC has come up with the World test championship. People usually try to be hyped about games like T20 and ODI formats. Many new features will be added by the ICC board, some of which they had revealed beforehand.  The most unique thing about the world test championship will maybe be the fact that the player’s Instagram handles will be printed behind on the back of their jersey. Usually the jersey has the names of the players printed, but this new thing is sure to add some jazz to the game. A lot of players have expressed their grief of wearing gears and uniforms which are a terrible option during hot weather conditions. For this purpose the ICC published a post on their social media handle on the 1st of April, which claimed that the players might also be allowed to wear shorts on the field, when the heat reaches its height and temperatures go over 35 degrees. The whole organisation is trying to bring in newer things, like the broadcasters have the option of making the commentators stand on the field of play. This is a move to get the fans and players closer.

The inaugural match was held on the 1st of august, 2019. The whole test will be played over a span of two years from the year 2019 till 2021. The test might seem like confusing to deal with, but the format of the championship is not hard to understand. First there will be a total of six, bilateral matches among the top ranked, nine teams. The points in each test differ from each other. This difference depends on the matches in the series. How? Well if there are 2 matches who have been played, for a win you need half of the points, which is 60. If you need points of a tie, you will get 40% of the total points (120) and for a draw one needs 20 points. There are no points if one loses the match in series.

How does the Points System Work in Test Championship?

Each team will play six series, with each series weightage for 120 points, distributed over the number of matches in a series.

Number of matches per series Points awarded for a win Points awarded for a tie Points awarded for a draw
2 60 30 20
3 40 20 13.3
4 30 15 10
5 24 12 8

How many teams will participate in Test Championship 2019-21?

Here are the top 9 ranked teams will participate in test championship 2019-21:-

  1. Australia
  2. Bangladesh
  3. England
  4. India
  5. New Zealand
  6. Pakistan
  7. South Africa
  8. Sri Lanka
  9. West Indies

As mentioned earlier, a total of nine teams will be contesting out of which Zimbabwe, Ireland and Afghanistan will not be playing. But this will not stop the teams of Ireland and Afghanistan from playing for the test matches, unlike Zimbabwe who have been banned by the ICC. Now comes the part of how the winners will be decided. For this, the two teams which will have the most points till the end of the league will play for the final title in England, 2021. Dead rubbers such as getting points for per game and not per series will also be done away with.

Also Read: ICC World Test Championship 2019-21 Points Table

How many matches will be played ICC Test Championship?

All top 9 teams have to play against 6 teams. There will be 3 home series and three away series. There will be at least 2 and maximum 5 matches in one test series. There are total 71 Test matches in 27 series will be played in 2 years.

Penalties in Test Championship 2019-21 you should know about?

Yes. Points are docked for slow over-rates in the World Test Championship. 2 points will be deducted from the total points a team earns if it is found guilty of a slow over-rate at the end of the game. According to the recent changes to ICC’s rules, the skipper won’t be only one bearing the brunt of the fine.

This venture is an attempt to revive the fun that test matches bring to the homes and lives of people. The youth of the world have largely been focused on the twenty twenty matches these days, the test series have had a decline ever since. Day and night tests and even four days test matches are among the suggested plans that the ICC had come forward with. The ICC world test championship is the brainchild of all these attempts. The critics are of the opinion that this kind of matches will not only make cricket a popular phenomena among the youth of today, reviving the old magic of the test matches, but it will also induce a new kind of competitive zeal and serious attitude among the match players.

India’s schedule in the ICC World Test Championship

  1. July-August 2019: 2 Tests against West Indies (Overseas)
  2. Oct-Nov 2019: 3 Tests against South Africa (Domestic)
  3. November 2019: 2 Test against Bangladesh (Domestic)
  4. February 2020: 2 Tests against New Zealand (Overseas)
  5. December 2020: 4 Test against Australia (Overseas)
  6. Jan-Feb 2021: 5 Tests against England (Domestic)

Leave a Reply