Sports Monks

Qatar Cup 2020, Teams, History, Dates and Vital Information

Qatar Cup 2020 Teams, History Dates and Vital Information

The Qatar Cup 2020 is on the anvil and football fans will once again witness history being made at the Al Sadd Stadium where all games will be played. Organized by the Qatar Stars League, the first division football league of the country, the Qatar Cup is played by the top four teams in the season.

Qatar Cup 2020 Teams & Dates

The Qatar Stars League has already released the 2020 Qatar Cup Schedule and the tournament will be played by the top 4 clubs in the 2018-19 QNB Stars League season, namely Al Sadd, Al Duhail, Al Sailiya and Al Rayyan.

The first semi-final match between Al Duhail and Al Sailiya will be played on the 10th of January (Friday), 2020 and the second semi-final match between Al Rayyan and Al Sadd will be played on the 11th of January (Sunday), 2020.

The final match will be played on the 17th of January (Friday), 2020. In case, at the end of regular time, there is a tie between two teams, there will be a penalty shoot-out played straightaway without any extra time.

Qatar Cup Teams and Journey of the Tournament

The 2018-19 season of the QNB Stars League was won by Al Sadd. This team romped home in style, playing 22 matches and winning a handsome 18 games out of this tally. The team collected 57 points and had three draws and a loss to their name. They also qualified for the AFC Champions League Group Stage and FIFA Club World Cup first round in the process.

Al Duhail, playing 22 games, won 15 of them, finishing second in the league for the 2018-19 season with 50 points to their name. They drew 5 games and lost 2 matches. The team also qualified for the AFC Champions League Group Stage in the process.

Al Sailiya had 12 wins out of 22 matches, losing 8 games and drawing 2 matches. They earned 38 points along with a spot in the AFC Champions League play-off round.

Al Rayyan had 37 points to its name, winning 10 out of 22 matches, drawing 7 games and losing 5 games in all. The club also qualified for the play-off round in the AFC Champions League as a result. Al Rayyan managed to pip Al Ahli to the fourth position with the latter finishing at 34 points from 22 games (10 wins, 4 draws and 8 losses).

Al Sadd had Baghdad Bounedjah as the top scorer with a whopping 39 goals, closely followed by Youssef El-Arabi from Al Duhail with 26 goals and Akram Afif from Al Sadd with 26 goals as well. Rachid Tiberkanine was the third highest goal scorer with 13 goals and so was Abdulgadir Ilyas Bakur. Both players are from Al Sailiya. The fourth spot was taken by Al Rayyan’s Rodrigo Tabata and Hassan Al-Haidos from Al Sadd.

History of the Qatar Cup

The Qatar Cup has a chequered history, being founded in the year 1964. The first tournament was held in the 1994-95 season, named as the Heir Apparent Cup in a tribute to Qatar’s rulers. In the 2013-14 season, the name was changed to the Qatar Cup which is now a major feather in the cup for the Qatar Stars League. The tournament is played in the knock-out format and is one of the most prestigious footballing events in the season. It is played between the top four teams of the Qatar Stars League every season.

Leave a Reply