PFA Premier League Team of The Year announced

Champions Manchester City and their fans have further reasons to smile now as the FFA Premier League Team of The Year – revealed earlier today – has five players from the Citizens’ squad.

Kyle Walker – who moved from Tottenham in the summer claims the right back spot and accompanying him in the defence is his teammate Nicolas Otamendi. The Englishman has recorded a total tally of six assists this season – his highest in any season so far in his career – while his Argentine compatriot has bounced back in some fashion after having an indifferent start to his Premier League career last season.

Joining them in the team from the City squad are Kevin De Bruyne, David Silva and Sergio Aguero. De Bruyne has been the driving force behind their title-winning season. His leads the assists category with 15 to his name this season, becoming the first player to touch that mark for two consecutive season in Premier League history.

Silva has been reliable as ever and is arguably having his best season since 2011/12. On the other hand, Sergio Aguero sees his name in the Team of The Year for the first time in seven seasons.

Spurs have three players of their own in the team with Christian Eriksen, Jan Verthongen and Harry Kane getting into the side.

Kane has again been on mark this season with 25 goals to his name. In doing so, he became the third player third player to score 25 goals in at least three consecutive Premier League campaigns, after Alan Shearer (93/94 to 96/97) and Thierry Henry (03/04 to 05/06).

While Kane has been banging them in, it is Eriksen who has been the fulcrum of their side going forward. The Dane has again proved his class and has in fact provided Kane with 35 goal scoring opportunities this season – the most from one player to another in 2017/18.

Verthongen, meanwhile remains the cornerstone of the Spurs backline. His importance of his presence at the back is magnified by the fact that they have kept 13 of their 14 clean sheets have come when the Belgian was involved.

Marcos Alonso and David De Gea are the only representatives from Chelsea and Manchester United respectively this season.

The only representative from Liverpool is Premier League’s top goal-scorer Mohamed Salah. The Egyptian has been on fire ever since arriving on Merseyside last summer – scoring 40 goals in all competitions with 30 of them in the Premier League.  from only 32 appearances. The first African to score 30+ goals in a single Premier League season, the former Roma man can yet break the record for most goals in a Premier League season.

The PFA Premier League Team of the Year!


— PFA (@PFA) April 18, 2018

Leave a Reply