T10 League – Team Preview: Punjabi Legends

The second edition of the innovative T10 League in UAE commences on 21st November and the finalists of last yearPunjabi Legends, will be hoping to advance by one step this time. Led by the mercurial Pakistani legend Shoaib Malik, Punjabi Legends have added a few legendary names in their squad for this year. They will be coached by Mushtaq Ahmed, former Pakistan leg-spinner. Here is how Punjabi Legends line up:

Batting unit

In Luke Ronchi, Punjabi Legends has one of the most devastating openers going around in T20 cricket. Ronchi struck three consecutive fifties in the 10-over competition last year and capped off with a spectacular 70 from 34 balls in the final. He will be partnered by the West Indian dynamite Evin Lewis. The batsman is a ferocious striker of the white ball and has showcased his talents on the global stage.

The middle order of Legends will be strengthened by the experienced Shoaib Malik, who is a prolific performer in T20 cricket. Umar Akmal has slipped off the national team radar and will be hoping to make a comeback with sterling performances in UAE. Anwar Ali is a big hitting all-rounder from Pakistan who is perfect for this format.

Bowling attack

Punjabi Legends boasts of a terrific bowling attack that possesses years of experience. Chris Jordan, Jade Dernbach, Mohammad Sami, Liam Plunkett, and Mitchell McClenaghan are bowlers who know how to handle pace in the crunch situations. Afghanistan’s mystery spinner Zahir Khan will also be eager to put his skill to the test. India’s Praveen Kumar will add value to the roster.

Key Players

Luke Ronchi

Evin Lewis

Shoaib Malik

Zahir Khan

Mitchell McClenaghan

Previous performance

Finalists in the 2017 Edition. They played a total of seven matches in the last season out of which they emerged victoriously in three. Punjabi Legends lost to Kerala Kings by eight wickets in the final.


Shoaib Malik (Icon PlayerPak), Chris Jordan (Eng), Luke Ronchi (NZ), Liam Plunkett (Eng), Evin Lewis (WI), Mohammad Sami (Pak), Zahir Khan (Afg), Umar Akmal (Pak), Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ), Tom Moores (Eng)Anwar Ali (Pak), Jade Dernbach (Eng)Hasan Khan (Pak).

The countdown for the cricket extravaganza has begun. You can book your tickets NOW on #Qtickets!


Leave a Reply