T10 League – Team Preview: Northern Warriors

We are fast approaching the second edition of the exciting T10 League which is about to start in UAE from 21st November. This year, the two new teams have been added to the roster, swelling the number of competitors from six to eight. One of the fresh participants is Northern Warriors.

The Northern Warriors will be captained by two-time T20I World Cup-winning captain Daren Sammy. St Lucian is enormously experienced at franchise cricket and was a part of the Bengal Tigers team in T10 2017. The former Indian international Robin Singh shall serve as the team coach. Here is how the Northern Warriors stack up for their inaugural season:

Batting unit

Northern Warriors are packed with the might of Windies batting. We saw what Nicolas Pooran is capable of with the bat in the third T20I match against India. He will be accompanied by Lendl Simmons, who has played some memorable knocks for West Indies and Mumbai Indians in the IPL. 

There are also a few upcoming names in the team. Rovman Powell and Kannar Lewis enjoyed their time at the CPL 2018 and will be eager to perform here as well. They have the experience of Dwayne Smith and Ravi Bopara. The biggest star in the team will obviously be Andre Russell, who is a superstar in the shorter formats of the game. His big-hitting skills will be the crowd-puller.

Bowling attack

Northern Warriors do not have a deadly fast bowler or a mystery spinner but possess a crop of young talents. They have Harry Gurney – the English left-arm spinner and Obed McCoy – the promising fast bowler from Windies. The Warriors have Chris Green and Khary Pierre in the spin department and Pakistan’s fast bowler Wahab Riaz will add fire to the bowling attack.

Key Players

Andre Russell

Nicolas Pooran

Dwayne Smith

Khary Pierre

Wahab Riaz

Previous performance

The Northern Warriors are playing in the competition for the first time.


Darren Sammy (c) (WI), Wahab Riaz (PAK), Nicolas Pooran (WI), Andre Russell (WI), Dwayne Smith (WI), Ravi Bopara (ENG), Rovman Powell (WI), Harry Gurney (ENG), Chris Green (AUS), Obed McCoy (WI), Lendl Simmons (WI), Khary Pierre (WI), Kennar Lewis (WI), Imran Haider (UAE), Amitoze Singh (IND), Rahul Bhatia (UAE).

The countdown for the cricket extravaganza has begun. You can book your tickets NOW on #Qtickets

Leave a Reply