T10 League round-up – Hattricks, Sixes and more Sixes!

If you are traveling anywhere near the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, beware! A spherical white object could be coming at you with an incredible pace. The second edition of the T10 League began on 21st November, and it has set the cricket world buzzing. In the eight matches played so far, we have already witnessed some unimaginable feats. Here is a round-up of all the action.

Shahzad’s Slaughter

Afghanistan’s portly batting giant, Mohammad Shahzadstruck an unbelievable 74 not out from just 16 balls as Rajputs chased 95 runs in just four overs. Shazad reached his fifty in just 12 balls, and he was truly unstoppable on the opening night of T10 League.

Nepal’s magic boy 

The national diversities were at display in the T10 League as Nepal’s leg-spinner Sandeep Lamichhane impressed in his first match with a three-wicket haul for Kerala Knights. He won the Man of the Match Award for his 3/17 against Pakhtoons.

Pravin Tambe proves old is gold 

The 47-year old leg-spinner from Mumbai shocked the world with his first over for Sindhis against Kerala Knights. Tambe dismissed Chris Gayle (2nd ball), Eoin Morgan (4th ball), Kieron Pollard (5th ball) and Fabian Allen (6th ball) in his first over and clinched a hat-trick as well. In the next over, he sent back Upul Tharanga and completed the first five-wicket haul in T10.

Aamer Yamin’s four in four

Northern Warriors were chasing 131 runs against Bengal Tigers. At the start of the eighth over, they stood at 80/3 and then Aamer Yamin hit them. The pace bowler snapped four wickets in the next four balls to complete a ‘double hattrick. The Warriors lost by 36 runs.

Northern Warriors go hammer and tongs!

After the defeat in the first match, Northern Warriors inflicted all their might at the hapless Punjabi Legends. Nicholas Pooran’s 77(25), Andre Russell’s n.o. 38(9) and Rovman Powell’s n.o. 21(5) catapulted the Warriors to an unimaginable score of 183 in just 10 overs! Punjabi Legends could score only 84/7 runs in reply and lost by 99 runs.

As per the current standings, all eight teams have won and a lost a game each. Rajputs lead with superior net run-rate while the Sindhis find themselves at the bottom. First round ends on 25th November.

Leave a Reply