Sports Monks

T10 League 2019 Day 4 Results: Day for Big Hitters & a Tied Encounter

The fun and frenzy in the T10 League continued on Day 4 as a total of six teams battled it out over three matches. While there were some good bowling and big-hitting from both teams, there was also a tied match which turned out to be the cherry on the cake to sum up the intensity of the day’s play.

Here is a summary of all the three matches played on November 18. 

Match 10: Deccan Gladiators vs Karnataka Tuskers

In the first match of the night, Shane Watson’s Deccan Gladiators beat Hashim Amla’s Gladiators by 5 wickets. Winning the toss, the Gladiators opted to bowl first. Johnson Charles (35), Evin Lewis (23) and skipper Hashim Amla (32*) scored runs to take their team to 110/3 in their quota of 10 overs. Gladiators bowlers Fawad Ahmed, Zahir Khan and Migael Pretorious took a wicket each as they limited their opposition to a modest score.

Kieron Pollard played a blinder for Deccan Gladiators. (Photo: [email protected]/T10 League)

The Gladiators’ chase had a torrid start with them losing the openers Mohammad Shahzad (13) and skipper Shane Watson for a duck. Then it was the West Indian all-rounder Kieron Pollard to the rescue for the Gladiators. Much like the team he is representing, he played a gladiator-like innings scoring 45 off just 22 balls including 4 big sixes and with Bhanuka Rajapaksa 22 off just 7 balls added a 68-run stand after his team was down to 37 for 4 inside five overs. Pollard also won the Man of the Match for his whirlwind knock.

Match 11: Maratha Arabians vs Team Abu Dhabi

Lynn scored an unbeaten 91 off just 30 balls for Maratha Arabians. (Photo Source: Twitter/@MarathaArabians)

It was all about Chris Lynn in the second game as he played one of the best knocks played ever in the league so far. Team Abu Dhabi won the toss and elected to field first. Toss was the only thing that went in their favor today. Since then, they had to bear the brunt of Lynn’s power-hitting. In an insane innings, Lynn scored an unbeaten 91 from just 30 balls as the Arabians scored 138 for 2 in their `10 overs. Combining with Adam Lyth (30 off 18 balls), the duo added 92 runs for the second wicket. 

Team Abu Dhabi despite their best efforts with the bat could only score 114/3 in their chase. Luke Wright (40) and skipper Moeen Ali (31) were once again at the forefront of their chase. However, the other batters failed to chip in as the Arabians registered a 24-run victory. Lynn for his fantastic innings was awarded the Man of the Match.

Match 12: Bangla Tigers vs Delhi Bulls

The third and the final game of the night between Bangla Tigers and Delhi Bulls ended in a tie. It was an end to what was a fantastic night of cricket displayed by all the teams.

Batting first, the Bangla Tigers scored 108/4 in their stipulated 10 overs. None of the Tigers batsmen really got going and somehow they managed to cross the hundred run mark at the end of their innings. Rilee Roussow, David Wiese and Tom Moores scored twenties to help their team get past 100. Mohammad Nabi, Ravi Rampaul and Ali Khan took two each for the Bulls with the ball.

The Tigers bowlers, however, gave the Bulls a tough fight with the ball. Kusal Perera (43) provided his team a good start. However, the Tigers bowlers hit back and took quick wickets.

Image result for Eoin MOrgan T10 League vs Bangla Tigers
Eoin Morgan couldn’t win the match for his team despite his best efforts. (Photo Courtesy: [email protected])

With skipper Morgan still at the wicket, The Bulls needed 17 to win off the final over. Morgan and Mathews kept Delhi in the game, however, the match turned in the last two deliveries. Mathews was run-out in the fifth delivery of the final over, while Morgan could only score 2 out of the three needed off the last ball to win.

This match also marks the end of the group stage of the Abu Dhabi League 2019. Deccan Gladiators topped group A while Maratha Arabians topped group B. This match also marks an end to the group stage of the tournament. The league stage starts from Tuesday, November 19 with all the 8 teams going head to head against each other.

The final of the third season of the T10 League will be played on Sunday, November 24.

Leave a Reply