T10 League 2018 – Team Preview: Pakhtoons

The game of cricket has condensed itself into just 10 overs, and the second edition of the T10 League begins on 21st November in Sharjah Stadium, Dubai. Total of eight teams will battle in 29 matches to determine one winner on 2nd December. One of the strong contenders is the Pakhtoons team.

Lead by the mercurial Shahid Afridi, Pakhtoons will be hoping to improve from their last year’s performance. Their coach for this season will be the former Australian cricketer Dean Jones who is well-known for his coaching style in the T20 format. Pakhtoons begin their campaign against Kerala Kings on 21st November. Here is the team preview.

Batting unit

Pakhtoons’ batting will rely heavily on the two Colins that they have. Colin Munro from New Zealand enjoyed tremendous success in the past year or so in white-ball cricket while batting at the top spot. Colin Ingram is a freelance T20 cricketer from South Africa and plays around the globe. He has a vast experience of white-ball cricket and is a useful bowler as well.

Andre Fletcher and Chadwick Walton are the batsmen who will add the Caribbean flavor to the Pakhtoons team. Both are explosive and will be attractive prospects. Of course, the real crowd-puller will be Shahid Afridi.

Bowling attack

Pakhtoons have a strong pace attack spearheaded by Pakistan’s giant Mohammad Irfan. They also possess David Willey who is a fast bowler capable of clearing the ground with the bat as well. Pakhtoons also have Shapur Zadran from Afghanistan, Sohail Khan from Pakistan and RP Singh from India.

The spin department is equally powerful. Liam Dawson and captain Shahid Afridi will be a major threat to the opposition. Both have tremendous experience of bowling in shorter formats.

Key Players

Shahid Afridi

Colin Munro

Colin Ingram

Mohammad Irfan

Andre Fletcher

Past performance

Pakhtoons were the star performers of the T10 League 2017. They cleared the group stage with flying colors and managed to win all five matches in the primary rounds. Unfortunately, their first loss was in the semi-final against Punjabi Legends and was knocked out straight away. Pakhtoons has retained their icon player and captain from the last year, Shahid Afridi.


Shahid Afridi (Icon Player, Pak), Mohammad Irfan (Pak), Liam Dawson (Eng), Colin Ingram (SA), David Willey (Eng), Colin Munro (NZ), Andre Fletcher (WI), Sohail Khan (Pak), Sharafuddin Ashraf (Afg), Chadwick Walton (WI), Shapoor Zadran (Afg), Gulbadin Naib (Afg), Cameron Delport (SA).

You can book your tickets NOW on #Qtickets!

Leave a Reply