T10 League 2018 – Team Preview: Maratha Arabians

The Maratha Arabians have a fresh team this year for the T10 League 2018 as they are without both their previous captains. The crown jewel of the Maratha Arabians will, of course, be the Afghan sensation, Rashid Khan. The leg-spinner is ruling the world when it comes to bowling with the white ball and has proved his worth in almost every tournament he has taken part in.

The Pakistani legend Wasim Akram will coach the Maratha Arabians. The swing wizard has been at the helm of international sides and will be crucial in the T10 campaign. Here is how Maratha Arabians line up for the 10-over cricket competition.

Batting unit

Maratha Arabians have the English opener Alex Hales spearheading the batting order. They also the Pakistani wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal who is capable of explosive batting in shorter formats. Hazratullah Zazai is a tantalizing prospect from Afghanistan. Brendan Taylor, Adam Lyth, and James Vince will provide stability.

The all-rounder section of the Arabians is quite strong. They possess Dwayne Bravo, one of the best all-rounders going around in T20 cricket. Van Der Merwe and James Franklin will be handy with bat and ball as well.

Bowling attack

In Rashid Khan, Maratha Arabians have the best T20 bowler in the world. His leg-breaks and googlies have befuddled the greatest of the batsmen, and he remains at the pinnacle when it comes to bowling with the white ball. Lasith Malinga, the master of lethal yorkers, will compliment him and form an incredible pair with the Afghan.

Other than these two, the Arabians will find it difficult to keep the opposition batsmen quiet. They have Bravo and Faulkner who will be effective options but lack the extraordinary skills.

Key players

Rashid Khan

Kamran Akmal

Lasith Malinga

Dwayne Bravo

R Van Der Merwe

Past performance

Maratha Arabians were knocked out in the semi-finals last year as they went down to the eventual champions Kerala Kings. In total, Arabians won three out of their six matches.


Rashid Khan (Icon Player, Afg), Kamran Akmal (Pak), Alex Hales (Eng), Dwayne Bravo (WI), James Faulkner (Aus), Lasith Malinga (SL), Liam Livingstone (Eng), James Vince (Eng), Brendan Taylor (Zim), Adam Lyth (Eng), Roelof van der Merwe (Ned), Najibullah Zadran (Afg), Richard Gleeson (Eng).

The countdown for the cricket extravaganza has begun. You can book your tickets NOW on #Qtickets

Leave a Reply