Sports Monks

Abu Dhabi T10 League 2019 Players Draft

Abu Dhabi T10 League 2019 Players Draft | Draft of T10 League 2019

The Abu Dhabi T10 cricket league is on the anvil and is eagerly awaited by cricketing enthusiasts and fans from around the world. The annual players draft was held with some of the top global stars up for auction. The tournament was held last year in Sharjah and has shifted to Abu Dhabi now, courtesy the support provided by the Abu Dhabi Sports Council, Abu Dhabi Cricket and the Department of Culture and Tourism-Abu Dhabi.

The T10 League matches will be start from 15th to 24th of November, 2019, at Abu Dhabi’s Zayed Cricket Stadium. Here’s how the 8 teams in the tournament are lining up after the draft. 110 players were allocated for 8 teams and several new stars were showcased for the very first time.All franchises only had a limited time frame of 3 minutes for choosing their marquee players.

Also Read: Abu Dhabi T10 League 2019 Schedule

T10 League 2019 draw – Let’s have a look how 8 teams look like

  • Northern Warriors: Northern Warriors, the defending champions, made some strong picks including Darren Sammy who was the icon player. T20 legend Andre Russell has also joined the team along with three other West Indies players. Wahab Riaz will be a major addition to the team in terms of strengthening their pace bowling lineup. The team will start their campaign on the 15th of November, 2019, against the Maratha Arabians.
  • Team Abu Dhabi: Team Abu Dhabi has picked Moeen Ali as the icon player and they have landed Niroshan Dickwella from Sri Lanka, Corey Anderson from New Zealand and Mohammad Amir from Pakistan. The bowling outfit is excellent this time around for Team Abu Dhabi. The team will be coached by Trevor Bayliss, the ex-coach of England and also the UAE National Cricket Team coach, Dougie Brown.
  • Maratha Arabians: The team has chosen balance with a good seamer lineup and batting outfit. The icon player is big-hitting batsman Chris Lynn and Lasith Malinga will add to their bowling expertise at the death. Chadwick Walton and Dwayne Bravo are also in the team, making it one of the strongest in the tournament.
  • Deccan Gladiators: Kieron Pollard is the star package in this lineup along with icon player Shane Watson. Zahoor Khan from UAE is on board along with Fawad Ahmed and Mason Crane from England.
  • Delhi Bulls: The Delhi Bulls will be taking on the Deccan Gladiators on the 15th of November, 2019. Eoin Morgan, the World Cup winning England skipper, will be their captain in the tournament. Shoaib Malik is in the team along with Mohammad Nabi from Afghanistan and Kusal Perera from Sri Lanka. Aamer Yamin from Pakistan is also in the team along with Adil Rashid, the consummate leg-spinner from England. Paul Sterling from Ireland, Tobias Visee from Holland and Ali Khan from the United States are also part of the team.
  • Team Qalandars: Shahid Afridi is a pivotal part of the team along with Mohammad Hafeez. There are 10 players from Pakistan in the lineup including Faheem Ashraf and Imad Wasim. The team also has Chris Jordan who is a skilled player in this format.
  • Bangla Tigers: The Bangla Tigers have 12 skilled batsmen and the icon player is ex-limited overs team captain Thisara Perera from Sri Lanka. There is Andre Fletcher from West Indies and Colin Ingram from South Africa. The Bangla Tigers will face off against the Deccan Gladiators on 16th November, 2019.
  • Karnataka Tuskers: Karnataka Tuskers has emphasized more on their bowling outfit with their icon player being South African batting great, Hashim Amla. There is Sandeep Lamichhane from Nepal along with Pat Brown from England and Ahmed Raza, the slow-left arm orthodox bowler. Johnson Charles and Evin Lewis will be powerhouses in the batting lineup along with Amla.

The action from the draft is definitely exciting and this has led to the teams picking up several stylish players who will be leaving their mark on the proceedings. The upcoming 2019 Abu Dhabi T10 cricket league should be an absolute cracker in terms of the fierce contests that are about to follow.

Leave a Reply