T10 League 2018 – Team Preview: Kerala Kings

Adding another format to the glorious game of cricketT10 League kicks off today in the UAE. The 10-over tournament begins on 21st November and will be completed on 2nd December with the final taking place at the Sharjah Stadium. Eight teams will play out a total of 29 matches and eventually one will emerge as the champion.

The champion of the previous year’s T10 League was Kerala Kings. The franchise has retained its winning captain, and Eoin Morgan will once again be eyeing the trophy. The Kings will be coached by New Zealand legend Daniel Vettori. Here is the team preview of defending champions:

Batting unit

The Kerala Kings possess the greatest T20 batsman in their ranks. Although his powers are waning, Chris Gayle is still a force in the domestic cricket leagues. The bowlers will inevitably be under pressure to bowl at this giant as he arrives in the 10-over cricket league. 

Captain Eoin Morgan will be another spectacular batting prospect. He played an enormous role in last year’s winning campaign, and we can expect fireworks from England’s leader. Kieron Pollard, Paul Stirling and Niroshan Dickwella are other familiar names.

Bowling attack

The Kings have a decent pace battery in Sohail Tanvir, Wayne Parnell, and Junaid Khan. Tanvir has played in T20 cricket for years and with his wrong-footed action still bamboozles batsmen all around the globe. He is also an effective batsman who can smash a few sixes. His seaming partner, Wayne Parnell, has a tremendous experience with the South African team.

Kerala Kings’ spin department will be led by Nepal’s wrist-spinner Sandeep Lamichchane. The young kid is a sensation with the white ball in his hand, and this will be another stage for him to leave an impression on. Fabian Allen will be his backup. 

Key Players

Eoin Morgan

Sohail Tanvir

Chris Gayle

Sandeep Lamichchane

Tom Curran

Past performance

Kerala Kings were crowned winners in the inaugural edition of the T10 League last year. They won three out of their five matches in the group round. In the semi-final, the Kings defeated Maratha Arabians. In the final, they confronted Punjabi Legends and won by eight wickets. Eoin Morgan registered half-centuries in both the crunch matches.


Eoin Morgan (Icon PlayerCaptain, England), Sohail Tanvir (Pakistan), Kieron Pollard (WI), Paul Stirling (Ire), Dasun Shanaka (SL), Chris Gayle (WI), Junaid Khan (Pak), Sandeep Lamichhane (Nep), Tom Curran (Eng), Fabian Allen (WI), Niroshan Dickwella (SL)Imran Nazir (Pak), Benny Howell (Eng), Wayne Parnell (SA), R Singh Sodhi (Ind), Mohammad Naveed (UAE), Abdul Shakoor (UAE), Upul Tharanga (SL).

You can book your tickets NOW on #Qtickets

Leave a Reply