; charset=UTF-8" /> Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy Winners List (2009-2020)
Sports Monks

Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy History, Teams and Winners list

Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy History, Teams and Winners list

A Twenty20 domestic cricket championship in India, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is organized by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Named after a well-known Indian cricketer, Syed Mushtaq Ali, this trophy had its inaugural season in 2008-09.

Now let’s take a look at the fascinating history of this trophy. In the 2006-07 season, BCCI had launched its own state structure, wherein 27 Ranji teams were divided into 5 zones with the name of Inter-State T20 Championship. This was eventually renamed and relaunched as the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Each zone has its own winners and runners-up who then qualify for the knockout stage. The 2012-13 season witnessed the knockout stage being replaced by a Super League where Zonal Winners and Runners-Up are divided into 2 groups. The winner of each group then played the final match. In an interesting turn of events, the 2015-16 season did not have the teams competing on Zonal basis, but were drawn into 4 groups, which is quite different from the pattern that preceded this season. In 2016-17 season, the super league involved the Combined Zonal teams instead of Zonal Winners.

Following the inclusion of 9 teams into the Domestic structure in the 2018-19 season, the zonal system was discarded and teams have been drawn into 5 groups with Group winners and runners up qualifying for Super League. Two groups are formed, with 10 teams in each, and the Super League Group Winners play the Final.

Currently BCCI is considering an innovation in the form of a “Power Player” or “Super Sub” rule. Teams will not be naming the Playing Eleven at the start of the match. They will announce 15 players initially and any player can be substituted during the course of the match at the fall of a wicket or at the end of the over. The “Power Player” or “Super Sub” facility can be availed during game-changing scenario(s) in the match as per the strategies of the playing team. To note, a team can use this opportunity to introduce a “power player” only once during a match. Power Player may be used as an experiment in the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019.

As far as the current teams are concerned, the competition features the following 37 Domestic Teams of India:

Also See: Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy 2019-20 Schedule

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Teams

  1. Andhra Pradesh
  2. Arunachal Pradesh
  3. Assam
  4. Baroda
  5. Bengal
  6. Bihar
  7. Chhattisgarh
  8. Delhi
  9. Goa
  10. Gujarat
  11. Haryana
  12. Himachal Pradesh
  13. Hyderabad
  14. Jammu & Kashmir
  15. Jharkhand
  16. Karnataka
  17. Kerala
  18. Madhya Pradesh
  19. Maharashtra
  20. Manipur
  21. Meghalaya
  22. Mizoram
  23. Mumbai
  24. Nagaland
  25. Odisha
  26. Puducherry
  27. Punjab
  28. Railways
  29. Rajasthan
  30. Saurashtra
  31. Services
  32. Sikkim
  33. Tamil Nadu
  34. Tripura
  35. Uttar Pradesh
  36. Uttarakhand
  37. Vidarbha

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Winners List (2009-2020)

Season Winners Runners-up
Inter-State T20 Championship
2006/07 Tamil Nadu Punjab
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
2009/10 Maharashtra Hyderabad
2010/11 Bengal Madhya Pradesh
2011/12 Baroda Punjab
2012/13 Gujarat Punjab
2013/14 Baroda Uttar Pradesh
2014/15 Gujarat Punjab
2015/16 Uttar Pradesh Baroda
2016/17 East Zone Central Zone
2017/18 Delhi Rajasthan
2018/19 Karnataka Maharashtra
2019/20 Karnataka TamilNadu

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019/20 Season Winner was Karnataka state cricket association.

Season Zone winners
Central East North South West
Inter State Twenty-20 Tournament
2016/17 Madhya Pradesh Bengal Delhi Karnataka Mumbai

Last Update: 02 December 2019

Leave a Reply