South African Players Likely To Miss The Initial Stage Of IPL 2020

As the 13th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is about to kickstart from the 19th of September, the brains have involved under substantial discussion for the same. Keeping in mind the uncontrollable outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic in India, the tournament will take place in the UAE under plenty of restrictions. Nevertheless, the participation of South African players for the start of competition remains under doubt.

With the entire country put under lockdown by the South African government in response to the health crisis, plenty of services remain suspended. International travel stays prohibited until the end of September.

In the wake of this, significant South African stars including Ab de Villiers, Quinton de Kock, Dale Steyn, Chris Morris and many others are likely not to make it to the first part of the league. Pace-bowling all-rounder Chris Morris notched up a price of INR 10 crores by the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

Chris Morris
Chris Morris (Credits: Twitter)

The restrictions imposed have also stopped Proteas’ players other than Imran Tahir from partaking in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL), commencing on the 18th of August. Tahir, who is residing in Pakistan now, was able to make it on time for the CPL. He would also remain available for his franchise Chennai Super Kings (CSK) throughout the leg.

RCB is the most affected side in IPL 2020:

IPL, Dale Steyn, RCB, Virat Kohli
Dale Steyn with Virat Kohli. Photo Credit: BCCI/IPL.

The brunt of all these would have to be borne most by RCB, who is yet to win an edition of the extravaganza. The franchise has plenty of first-choice overseas players from South Africa and would need ample clearances to get their players to participate in the tournament. The officials are likely to send a single flight for all nine Proteas’ athletes aside from Imran Tahir.

SA players with IPL contracts – AB de Villiers (RCB), Quinton de Kock (MI), Dale Steyn (RCB), Chris Morris (RCB), Kagiso Rabada (DC), Lungi Ngidi (CSK), Faf Du Plessis (CSK), Imran Tahir (CSK), David Miller (RR), Hardus Viljoen (KXIP)

Leave a Reply