Sports Monks

PSL 2020 Draft: Quetta Gladiators will be making the First Pick

PSL 2020 Draft, Date, Time, Venue, PSL 2020 Team Squads & Players List

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2019 has already generated sufficient excitement amongst cricket enthusiasts and fans in the country and beyond. The next edition of the PSL will be played from the 20th of February, 2020 and will continue till 22 March, 2020. The defending champions, Quetta Gladiators, will be allowed to make the first pick or select the first player in the PSL 5 draft. They will be followed by Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans, Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi and Karachi Kings respectively. The Pakistan Super League draft 2020 is already generating huge excitement amongst cricketers along with all the franchises of the tournament.

Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2020 Draft Rules

PCB has announced that in the PSL 2020 all 6 franchises will decreased to 18 players a team instead of 21 which will bring about the cutting of pay rates and will help franchisees to acquire benefit and do breakeven of their speculation.The PSL organizer has decided to cut down salary caps for teams to $1.1 Million Dollars. All the matches of Pakistan Super League 2020 is going to be held in Pakistan so there was no need to include extra players with the franchise as it was the case when league used to be held in UAE and we believe it’s a good decision by the Pakistan Cricket Board.

The pick order was unveiled via an innovative depiction of the traditional street cricket practice, using the bat. The official statement of the PCB (Pakistan Cricket Board) was released on the website where it was clearly stated that the cricket bat pick system is used many times for working out batting turns in Pakistan’s single-wicket cricket circuit. It is another alternative to coin-tosses for starting cricket matches. As a result, it is a special part of the country’s cricket history and is commonly used across innumerable tape-ball and tennis ball cricket matches almost every day and week.

Also Read: List of players retained and released by franchises for PSL 2020

Official PSL 2020 Draft Date

The procedure of registration for foreign players has also commenced likewise. The 6 teams will be selecting their players in the PSL 2020 draft which is scheduled for the 6th and 7th of December 2019. The pick order in the first round for the HBL PSL 2020 players draft was determined by the Chairman of the PCB, Ehsan Mani and its Chief Executive Officer, Wasim Khan. There were franchise representatives present at the Gaddafi Stadium as well in addition to Blitz Advertising and HBL, the league partners. The statistical system for choosing the pick order across the remaining 17 draft rounds has been specially tailored as well. The retention and transfer window now commences with the release of the first pick order. The franchises will now look to negotiate for new players and trade off some prior to the PSL 2020 players auction.

Based on the league’s policy, teams can retain a maximum of 8 players from their previous year’s roster. There is a requirement of choosing 5 foreign players in a 16-member squad which will continue for the upcoming season as well. Two supplementary players can be chosen by the teams as well. 3-4 foreign players can be played in the match XI by franchises. A wildcard pick will also be brought in for the upcoming season. Teams can choose players in the Gold or Silver Categories in the Diamond Category Round. They can also choose a Silver Category Player in the Gold Category round at the PSL draft. Every team will have one wildcard pick option at the draft.

Foreign Players in Pakistan Super League 2020 Auction

According to several media reports, many International Cricketers from Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, England, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and West Indies have shown their interest to take part in PSL 2020 which is completely held in Pakistan. Let’s know about some of the famous international players who might be the part of PSL 2020 are Eoin Morgan, Colin Ingram, Carlos Brathwaite, AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle, Rashid Khan, Shane Watson, Luke Ronchi, Corey Anderson, Kieron Pollard, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Ben Laughlin, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Shahzad, Thisara Perera, Tamim Iqbal, Mustafizur Rahman and Mohammad Shafuddin. It is also revealed that a total of 120 foreign players will take part in the draft and all franchises will have lots of options to choose and pick the right players in the 2020 PSL Draft.

Leave a Reply