Sports Monks

Steyn, Roy highlight 28-player Platinum Pool for Pakistan Super League (PSL) draft

HBL PSL Player Draft 2020 | Platinum Foreign Players Pool for PSL Auction 2020

The Platinum Pool of 28 players has been released for the Pakistan Super League (PSL) draft and the initial tally contains superstars like Dale Steyn, Chris Lynn and Jason Roy. Other big names include Alex Hales, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Chris Jordan and Liam Plunkett. Recently retired stars from South Africa, JP Duminy and Hashim Amla have also found a place in the list. South African cricketing legend AB De Villiers, who played in the last PSL edition for Lahore Qalandars, has chosen not to play the tournament this year, highlighting workload related issues. Pakistan Super League Draft Date is also announced by PCB which will take place on 6 & 7 December 2019.

Also Read: T10 League 2019 Schedule

Participation of players in PSL 2020 will be based on their selection in the final draft and registration for these 28 players is a major development. This is because the 5th edition of the PSL tournament will be played fully at Pakistan throughout four destinations, namely Multan, Lahore, Rawalpindi and Karachi. With Pakistan steadily hosting international cricket again post hosting the PSL final in the year 2017 and 4 and 8 games of the 2018 and 2019 PSL editions, the 2020 edition will send out a positive message of security and safety for players to the global fraternity.

Every PSL team will have to line up 16 players and will have a $1.1 million purse for this purpose. The squad may have 5 foreign players and 11 local players. Teams can choose a couple of extra supplementary players, one of whom can be a foreign player. Every team can choose just 3 players from the Platinum Pool since 3 players each will have to be chosen from the Gold and Diamond Pools. Five players have to be chosen from the Silver Pool and two from the Emerging Players Pool. The 6 teams in the franchise, namely Karachi Kings, Multan Sultans, Lahore Qalandars, Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators can retain up to 8 players from their current lineup. The trading window remains open till the 1st of December, 2019. The players released will be added into the draft pool for selection by other franchises.

Foreign Players in Platinum Pool for PSL Draft 2020

  • Australia: Dan Christian, Chris Lynn, Ben Cutting
  • South Africa: Hashim Amla, Colin Ingram, Dale Steyn, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Rilee Rossouw
  • England: Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Moeen Ali, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Harry Gurney, Liam Plunkett
  • West Indies: Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Carlos Brathwaite, Sunil Narine, Evin Lewis
  • Sri Lanka: Thisara Perera, Angelo Mathews
  • Afghanistan: Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mohammad Nabi
  • Nepal: Sandeep Lamichhane
  • New Zealand: Colin Munro

With the release of the Platinum Pool, the excitement just got taken up a notch as far as cricket fans are concerned! PSL 2020 looks set to be a big hit already with several talented foreign players expected to take the field this time along with exciting local talents too.

Leave a Reply