Sports Monks

List of Indian Premier League (IPL) Winners Since 2008 to 2019

IPL Winners List | Indian Premier League Winner Teams 2008 to 2020

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a domestic Twenty20 cricket tournament in India, organized by the IPL Governing Council and under the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The first edition of IPL was played in the year 2008. As of May 2019, 12 seasons of this tournament have been conducted successfully. The first IPL season was won by the Rajasthan Royals. Many International and domestic cricketers from different regions take part in this league. IPL is the most watched T20 cricket tournament and the 2nd-best paying sporting league globally. The last season was conducted from March to May 2019, with Mumbai Indians winning the title. The tournament featured 8 teams for the 2019 IPL season with players from all the the world. Here is the complete list of IPL winners since 2008 till 2019.

List of Indian Premier League (IPL) Winners (2008 to 2019)

Season Winner Team Runner up Team Venue (Stadium)
2019 Mumbai Indians (MI) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad
2018 Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Wankhede Stadium
2017 Mumbai Indians (MI) Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Royal Challengers  Bangalore (RCB) M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
2015 Mumbai Indians (MI) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Eden Gardens
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Kings XI Punjab M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
2013 Mumbai Indians (MI) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Eden Gardens
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) M. A. Chidambaram  Stadium
2011 Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) M. A. Chidambaram Stadium
2010 Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Mumbai Indians (MI) DY Patil Stadium
2009 Deccan Chargers (DC) Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Wanderers Stadium (South Africa)
2008 Rajasthan Royals (RR) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) DY Patil Stadium

Also Read: Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 Schedule

As of May 2019, 12 tournaments have been held successfully and Mumbai Indian is the most successful team which have won 4 IPL tournaments followed by the Chennai Super Kings with 3 titles. While other IPL teams like Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016), Kolkata Knight Riders (2012, 2014), Rajasthan Royals (2008) and Deccan Chargers (2009) are the other teams who have won the tournament.

Which team has never won the IPL title yet?

There are 12 teams of different franchise who have played in Indian Premier League till now. There are mainly 3 teams which are currently playing and never won the IPL Title.

  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Kings XI Punjab

There are some others teams which played in some seasons and not won the IPL title

  • Pune Warriors
  • Kochi Tuskers Kerala
  • Rising Pune Supergiants
  • Gujarat Lions

As of May 2019, there are 7 teams which still could not won the IPL title.

Run Machine Virat Kohli has most runs (5,412) in the IPL history till date while Sri Lankan Lasith Malinga has taken highest wickets (170) in the IPL tournament. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is the team which has lost the maximum number of finals (5) of the IPL followed by the Royal Challenger Bangalore (RCB) which lost 3 finals and still hasn’t won this tournament ever.

Leave a Reply