Sports Monks

IPL 2020 Orange Cap: Players Who Can Top-Score in the Tournament

The 13th season of the Indian Premier League is likely to start from March 29 in Mumbai with Mumbai Indians taking on the Chennai Super Kings. The match kicks off a series of 60 plus matches after which the season finale is likely to be played on May 12. All the teams have build a strong squad after the IPL 2020 auctions and are eyeing to lift the title in the upcoming season. Over the years the IPL has seen big names winning the Orange Cap. Sachin Tendulkar, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, Robin Uthappa, David Warner have all won the orange cap in the past. Warner has won the cap thrice in his career so far (2015, 2017, 2019), while Gayle won it twice (2011, 2012). Virat Kohli has the all-time record of scoring the most runs in an IPL season to his name. He scored 973 runs from 16 games in 2016. He along with Warner, Uthappa and Gayle will be seen fighting for the IPL 2020 Orange Cap along with many other supremely-talented batsmen.

We take a look at the top six batsmen who can win the Orange Cap in IPL 2020. 

David Warner

Image result for David Warner IPL
Photo Source: (

The Sunrisers Hyderabad opener has already won the orange cap thrice in his IPL career so far. He is one of the most consistent batsmen in the IPL. He has scored over 500 runs for SRH since 2014 and tops the list of contenders who can win the IPL 2020 Orange Cap. Warner along with Jonny Bairstow forges a formidable partnership at the top of the order for his team. The pair scored over 50 percent of SRH’s runs last season and something similar would be expected of them this year as well. Warner with his experience will also be of immense help for the SRH skipper Kane Williamson who won the Orange Cap in IPL 2018 when they reached the finals of the tournament. 

Also Read: IPL 2020: Season For Shubman Gill to Flourish

Virat Kohli

Image result for Virat Kohli IPL
Photo Source: (

Kohli has the record of scoring the most runs in IPL season to his name after he registered 973 runs in 16 matches in IPL 2016. It was after the IPL that he attained immense consistency in all formats of the game, especially the limited-overs. The RCB captain along with AB De Villiers are the two pillars of their batting line-up and this year too the onus will be on the duo to score the maximum runs for their side. With Kohli still waiting to win his first IPL trophy as RCB captain, he makes it to the list of players who can win the IPL 2020 Orange Cap in season 13. Kohli is always hungry to score runs and his franchise will need him to score as much as possible of they are to win the IPL this year.

Also Read: IPL 2020: 5 Players to Watch Out For RCB This Season

KL Rahul

Related image
Photo Source: (

KL Rahul became a household name in the IPL in 2018 after he scored 659 runs in the IPL. He backed it up by scoring 593 runs for Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2019. Despite making so many runs in the last two seasons for his franchise he failed to win the Orange Cap. However, Rahul is one of the players to watch out for who can win the IPL 2020 Orange Cap in season 13. A regular member of the Indian team now, Rahul was named as the skipper of the season for his franchise after the IPL 2020 auctions. This gives Rahul the added responsibility of making the most runs for his side at the top of the order. He is one of the few Indian batsmen to hit a century in the IPL. 

Also Read: IPL 2020: 5 Players to Watch Out For KXIP This Season

Andre Russell

Image result for Russell IPL
Photo Source: (

Russell scored almost 90 percent of KKR’s runs last season as he finished with 510 runs and 11 wickets for the franchise. That was also his best year in the IPL till date as he made and broke a number of records in season 12. He also got to 1000 IPL runs for KKR. He hit 52 sixes last season to create a record of hitting the most sixes in a single IPL season. He has increased the level of expectations of every KKR fan after the kind of season he had last year and he is certainly among the players who can win the IPL 2020 orange cap. 

Also Read: IPL 2020: 5 Players to Watch Out For KKR This Season

Rohit Sharma

Related image
Photo Source: (

Rohit Sharma had a memorable 2019 as he achieved a number of feats last year. He won his fourth IPL title with Mumbai Indians last year and also ended as the top-scorer in the ICC 2019 World Cup. Besides this, he also scored 416 runs in the IPL. He has consistently scored over 400 runs for Mumbai Indians since he joined them in 2013. Having established himself as one of the modern legends in the white-ball format, its time that he presses the button in the IPL too. Over the years he has changed his batting position for MI several times. However, Rohit’s best for MI has come when he has batted as an opener. He can certainly win the IPL 2020 Orange Cap if he gets back to opening the batting for his franchise. 

Also Read: 5 Most Valuable Players (MVPs) In IPL this Decade

Chris Lynn

Related image
Photo Source: (

Despite having two back to back good seasons for KKR when he scored over 400 runs, Lynn was released ahead of the IPL 2020 auctions. Now with Mumbai Indians, Lynn will have an opportunity to play on arguably India’s best batting wicket at the Wankhede. He has played enough IPL to understand the conditions of the various Indian grounds and if he plays to his potential Lynn can win the IPL 2020 Orange Cap. He is most likely to open with Rohit Sharma at the other end and can be unstoppable if he gets into his groove. Mumbai Indians will hope that he brings his BBL form into the IPL when he dons the Mumbai Indians jersey. 

Leave a Reply