Sports Monks

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 Schedule, Teams and Time Table

ICC Men's T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 Schedule, Teams and Time Table

The ICC World T20 qualifier 2019 is set to start soon in the UAE (United Arab Emirates) and the schedule for the 2020 ICC Men’s World Twenty20 qualifier has already been declared by the International Cricket Council. This is an important precursor to the T20 World Cup 2020 and the T20 World Cup winners may well be challenged by new and emerging nations who may disrupt the status quo with their fine performances.

Ahead of the next t20 world cup, enthusiasts will keep a keen eye on the ICC World Twenty20 2020 qualifier points table. The tournament will take place between the 18th of October and 2nd of November this year across Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

Participating Countries in ICC World T20 qualifier 2019:

  • UAE
  • Hong Kong
  • Oman
  • Ireland
  • Scotland
  • Netherlands
  • Jersey
  • Namibia
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Canada
  • Singapore
  • Kenya
  • Bermuda
  • Nigeria

The first 6 have already received their byes for the qualifier since they reached the World Twenty20 in 2016. The others have progressed through regional qualifiers. Zimbabwe has already been suspended by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and hence they are not taking part in the tournament. The top 6 countries at this qualifier will be joining Bangladesh and Sri Lanka in the first round of next year’s T20 World Cup to be held at Australia.

The 14 countries will be divided into two groups of 7 members each, the seeding will be on the basis of T20I rankings as of end-August, 2019.

Group A- Scotland, Netherlands, Kenya, Namibia, Papua New Guinea, Bermuda and Singapore.

Group B- UAE, Oman, Ireland, Canada, Hong Kong, Nigeria and Jersey.

World T20 2019 Qualifier Format:-

  • Single Round Robin.
  • Last 3 teams to be eliminated directly.
  • Group winners to move to semi-finals and secure qualification for next year’s mega event.
  • 2nd and 3rd positioned teams in both groups to have crossover matches for the two other semi-final slots. The losers in these games will play against the team placed fourth in both groups for a position in the play-off for 5th
  • With just 6 slots available, the play-offs between defeated teams will help determine the final two teams who qualify for next year’s T20 World Cup.

The 51 games of the qualifiers will take place throughout four grounds. Matches for Group B will be held at Abu Dhabi’s Sheikh Zayed Stadium while Group A will have matches at the Dubai International Stadium and ICC Academy Ground. There will be partial broadcasting for the tournament.

ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 Schedule:

  • 18 October 2019: Scotland v Singapore, Netherlands v Kenya at ICC Academy 1; Hong Kong v Ireland, Oman v UAE at Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi.
  • 19 October 2019: PNG v Bermuda, Netherlands v Namibia at ICC Academy 1; Scotland v Kenya at ICC Academy 2; Jersey v Nigeria, Ireland v UAE at Zayed Cricket Stadium.
  • 20 October 2019: PNG v Namibia, Bermuda v Singapore at ICC Academy 2; Hong Kong v Oman at Zayed Cricket Stadium, Canada v Jersey at ADC 1.
  • 21 October 2019: Scotland v PNG, Kenya v Bermuda at ICC Academy 1; Hong Kong v UAE, Canada v Nigeria at Zayed Cricket Stadium; Ireland v Oman at ADC 1.
  • 22 October 2019: Scotland v Namibia, Singapore v Netherlands at ICC Academy 1; UAE v Jersey at ADC 1.
  • 23 October 2019: Namibia v Bermuda, Singapore v Kenya at ICC Academy 2; Ireland v Canada, Hong Kong v Jersey at Zayed Cricket Stadium; Oman v Nigeria at ADC1.
  • 24 October 2019: Scotland v Bermuda at Dubai International Stadium; Netherlands v PNG at ICC Academy1; UAE v Nigeria, Hong Kong v Canada at ADC 1.
  • 25 October 2019: PNG v Singapore, Namibia v Kenya at Dubai International Stadium; Oman v Canada at Zayed Cricket Stadium; Ireland v Jersey at ADC1.
  • 26 October 2019: Netherlands v Bermuda, Namibia v Singapore at Dubai International Stadium; Ireland v Nigeria at Zayed Cricket Stadium.
  • 27 October 2019: PNG v Kenya, Scotland v Netherlands at Dubai International Stadium; Oman v Jersey, UAE v Canada at Zayed Cricket Stadium, Hong Kong v Nigeria at ADC 1.
  • 29 October 2019: Play-off 1 – A2 v B3; Play-off 2 – A3 v B2 at Dubai International Stadium.
  • 30 October 2019: Play-off 3 – A4 v Loser of Play-off 1; Play-off 4 – B4 v Loser of Play-off 2 at Dubai International Stadium.
  • 31 October 2019: Play-off for fifth and sixth places – Winner of Play-off 3 v Winner of Play-off 4, ICC Academy 1
  • 01 November 2019: Semi-final 1 – B1 v Winner of Play-off 1, Semi-final 2 – A1 v Winner of Play-off 2 at Dubai International Stadium.
  • 02 November 2019: Third place Play-off – Loser of Semi-final 1 v Loser of Semi-final 2; Final at Dubai International Stadium.

Leave a Reply