Sports Monks

Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2019-20 Teams, Squads and Players List

BPL 2019-20 Squads & Teams | Bangladesh Premier League Players List

Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Players’ Draft is getting over on 17th November. Each team of BPL have had the opportunity to include at least 9 local cricketers and four to six foreign cricketers from the draft.
All the teams had the opportunity to call local players in 5 steps in BPL Draft 2019-20. Besides, for the foreign players, they got this opportunity in 3 steps. Here’s all Information about 2019-20 BPL Draft.

In a late reprieve for Mashrafe Mortaza, Dhaka Platoons picked up him at a late stage in the players. The four-time winner of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), did not have any interested franchises until the 4th round. This is when Dhaka Platoons chose Mortaza as their 2nd player in the A+ category after snapping up Tamim Iqbal previously.

According to the coach of Dhaka Platoons, Mohammad Salahuddin, the franchise did not have the scope of calling for Mortaza previously since just one player could be called in the A+ category. That is why they picked Tamim Iqbal first and then went for Mortaza later in the day. He added that T20 is obviously a game where experienced players count since decisions have to be taken in a super quick time. The more experience there is, the better for the team according to the coach. Shahid Afridi has also been chosen by the coach for his team.

It was previously confirmed that no franchise could select two players from the A+ group prior to Mahbub Anam, the BPL draft commissioner, releasing an exclusive ordinance. He stated that in case a franchisee wishes to purchase two players from the draft, sponsors will have to fork out the extra money for the A+ category cricketer. Mushfiqur Rahim was the first player to be chosen in the draft by the Khulna Tigers team and Dhaka Platoons went for Tamim Iqbal while Chattogram Challengers chose Mahmudullah, the Bangladesh T20 International Captain. Rangpur chose Mustafizur Rahman. Rajshahi picked up Liton Kumar Das while Comilla chose Soumya Sarkar. Sylhet also snapped up Mosaddek Hossain.

Mortaza remained on the sidelines all along prior to Dhaka Platoons choosing to pick him up in the end. Mortaza had a Tk. 50 lakh price tag. All BPL franchises had to select a minimum of 9 local cricketers and 6 foreign stars from a pool of approximately 620 players, comprising of 439 foreign players and 181 Bangladeshi players. Shoaib Malik from Pakistan withdrew his name from the draft at the last minute, being replaced by Bangladeshi player Robin Das who was born in Britain. However, he found no takers at the draft.

Chattogram Challengers picked up Chris Gayle as the first foreign acquisition of the draft. Rajshahi went for Ravi Bopara while Rangpur called for Mohammad Nabi. Dhaka Platoons ended the draft by choosing Shahid Afridi from Pakistan. There were a few hurdles when Rangpur desired the inclusion of young leg-spinner Rishad Hossain in the team to eventually discover that his name was not present. Previously, the BCB had made it mandatory for choosing a minimum of one leg-spinner and a quick bowler with a speed of 140 kmph.

This edition of the BPL will witness several legendary coaches in action, including Grant Flower who will be coaching the Rangpur Rangers and Ottis Gibson who will be coaching the Comilla Warriors. BCB will be commemorating the birth centenary of Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the country’s founding president while also obtaining ownership of the franchises. The tournament is expected to commence from 11th December.

Also See: Bangladesh Premier League Schedule 2019-20

Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2019-20 Squads

Dhaka Platoons Team Squad 2019-20

Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Hasan Mahmud, Mahedi Hasan, Thisara Perera, Laurie Evans, Ariful Haque, Mominul Haque, Shuvagata Hom, Mashrafe Mortaza, Wahab Riaz, Asif Ali, Roqibul Hasan, Zakir Ali, Luis Reece, Shahid Afridi.

Khulna Tigers Team Squad 2019-20

Mushfiqur Rahim, Shafiul Islam, Nazmul Hossain, Aminul Islam, Rilee Rossouw, Robbie Frylinck, Shamsur Rahman, Saif Hasan, Mehedi Hasan, Shahidul Islam, Mohammad Amir, Najibullah Zadran, Alis Islam, Tanvir Islam, Rahmanullah Gurbaz.

Chattogram Challengers Team Squad 2019-20

Mahmudullah , Imrul Kayes, Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Chris Gayle, Kesrick Williams, Nurul Hasan, Enamul Haque Jr, Muktar Ali, Pinak Ghosh, Avishka Fernando, Rayad Emrit, Nasum Ahmed, Junaid Siddique, Ryan Burl, Imad Wasim.

Rangpur Rangers Team Squad 2019-20

Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Naim, Arafat Sunny, Jahurul Islam, Mohammad Nabi, Shai Hope, Taskin Ahmed, Zakir Hasan, Fazle Rabbi, Nadif Chowdhury, Lewis Gregory, Cameron Delport, Sanjit Saha.

Rajshahi Royals Team Squad 2019-20

Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Abu Jayed, Farhad Reza, Ravi Bopara, Hazratullah Zazai, Taijul Islam, Alok Kapali, Kamrul Islam, Irfan Sukkur, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Irfan, Minhajul Abedin Afridi, Nahidul Islam.

Comilla Warriors Team Squad 2019-20

Soumya Sarkar, Al-Amin Hossain, Yasir Ali , Sabbir Rahman, Kusal Perera, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sanzamul Islam, Abu Hider, Mahidul Islam Ankon, Sumon Khan, Dawid Malan, Dasun Shanaka, Fardin Hossain

Sylhet Thunders Team Squad 2019-20

Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Nazmul Islam, Sohag Gazi, Sherfane Rutherford, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Rony Talukdar, Nayeem Hasan, Delwar Hossain, Monir Hossain, Naveen-ul Haque, Johnson Charles, Rubel Miah, Jeevan Mendis.

Leave a Reply