Shortlisted candidate list released for the post of national selector

BCCI Shortlists 4 Candidates for Senior National Selectors Post

BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) has released its final list of shortlisted candidates for the senior national selector position. Previously, BCCI had asked for applications for positions that will be vacated by panel member Gagan Khoda and chairman of selectors, MSK Prasad. Several leading names in Indian cricket had applied for these vacated slots in the 5-member selectors’ panel. Four candidates have finally been shortlisted by the BCCI for the two vacant slots that remain.

Ajit Agarkar, Laxman Sivaramakrishnan, Rajesh Chauhan and Ventakesh Prasad have made it to the shortlist of the BCCI for occupying the vacant positions of national selectors in the 5-member selection panel. The candidates will be interviewed by the CAC (Cricket Advisory Committee). The members of the CAC are Madan Lal, Sulakshana Nail and Rudra Pratap Singh and they will personally talk to all the candidates.

Even though the zonal system has been removed by the new constitution, it has to be observed whether the BCCI retains a balance in the selection committee. Prasad has been elected for the South Zone while Khoda is the representative of the West Zone in the 5-member committee. The interviews will be held within another 10 days as per reports and the final announcement could be slated for end-February, 2020. The new committee will have its task cut out with the Indian team starting a 3-match ODI series versus South Africa from 12th March, 2020. There was a minor controversy previously when the application email by Laxman Sivaramakrishnan was absent from the official inbox of the BCCI. Yet, the mail was eventually discovered in the spam folder and BCCI has initiated a probe for resolving the issue as well.

Here are the candidates short-listed for the last round of interview for senior national selector post:

4 Shortlisted Candidates For Senior National Selectors Post

  1. Ajit Agarkar: Ajit Agarkar is a favorite for inclusion in the selection panel and is one of the most prominent yesteryears Indian cricketers, having played more than 200 matches across all formats. He is India’s third-highest wicket taker for ODIs and has also played in the 1999 World Cup and 2007 World Cup events. He has also turned out for the KKR (Kolkata Knight Riders) and Delhi Daredevils in the Indian Premier League (IPL), while captaining Mumbai to its 40th Ranji Trophy title in the year 2013. He has played 26 Test matches, picking up 58 wickets an average of 47.32 and best bowling figures of 6/41. He has played 191 ODI games, taking 288 wickets at an average of 27.85 and best bowling figures of 6/42.
  2. Laxman Sivaramakrishnan: Laxman Sivaramakrishnan is a well-known right-arm leg spinner and a reputed cricket commentator. He is one of the representatives of players on the cricket committee of the ICC (International Cricket Council).  He has played 9 Test matches, taking 26 wickets at an average of 44.03 and best bowling figures of 6/64. He has taken 154 wickets in 76 first class matches with a bowling average of 38.49 and best figures of 7/28.
  3. Venkatesh Prasad: Venkatesh Prasad is one of India’s most decorated pace bowlers who formed a formidable unit in tandem with Javagal Srinath. He is also the bowling coach for Kings XI Punjab in the IPL (Indian Premier League) while also being the bowling coach for the Indian cricket team between the years 2007 and 2009. He has played 33 Test matches, having picked up 96 wickets at an average of 35.00 and with best bowling figures of 6/33. He has also played 161 ODI matches, taking 196 wickets at an average of 32.30. His best figures in ODIs are 5/27. Prasad has previously coached Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in their first IPL season in the year 2008.
  4. Rajesh Chauhan: Rajesh Chauhan has played 21 Test matches for the country, taking 47 wickets at an average of 39.51 and with best bowling figures of 4/48. He has played 35 ODIs with a bowling average of 41.93 and best figures of 3/29. He has picked up 29 wickets in ODI matches.

Leave a Reply