Sports Monks

BCL 2020 Draft: National Players to be Available for opening Round

Bangladesh National Players to be Available for Opening Round of BCL

The BCL (Bangladesh Cricket League) is slated to commence from the 31st of January, 2020 and the player’s draft was held on the 27th of January, 2020, at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium. The BCB (Bangladesh Cricket Board) subsequently released the list of players post this event, confirming availability of all national team players for the first round of the 4-team first class contest.

Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Mustafizur Rahman and Mahmudullah, who were not a part of the last edition of the BCL, are amongst the top national players who will be available for the 1st and 3rd rounds of the competition. Mushfiqur Rahim, who opted out from the tour of Pakistan, will be available for BCB North Zone for the entire season.

Test team specialists are already preparing for the Pakistan Test series under Neil McKenzie’s guidance. Bangladesh will be playing their first Test match on the 7th of February, 2020, versus Pakistan on the second phase of the cricket tour and the second Test match will take place in April. Both matches are a part of the World Test Championship. Bangladesh will also be playing a one-off Test match versus Zimbabwe which starts on the 22nd of February, 2020.

Zimbabwe will be arriving between the 2nd and 3rd phases of the tour of Pakistan and will be playing 3 one-day matches and 2 T20Is along with the one-off Test match. Zimbabwe was previously scheduled in March for visiting Bangladesh and playing one Test match and 5 T20Is. However, the BCB convinced the team to bring the series forward to the month of February. Bangladesh will be hosting two T20Is between the World XI and Asia XI on the 18th and 20th of March this year for commemorating Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s birth centenary.

Keeping all these factors in mind, the BCB was compelled to tweak the domestic cricketing calendar and bring the BCL ahead. The Dhaka Premier League was initially expected to commence in the first week of next month but has been shifted to May, 2020 instead, prior to the Bangladesh cricket team’s Ireland tour. Habibul Bashar, Bangladesh selector, confirmed the national players’ availability for the first round BCL match and they are expected to perform strongly in order to regain confidence after a poor show in the recently concluded T20 matches versus Pakistan.

Bashar also spoke of how the team needs to swiftly regroup prior to the opening Test match versus Pakistan. The players have to perform well in the BCL to remove all pressing doubts that may have ventured into their minds regarding their abilities and performance. There will be just a couple of corporate houses this time for the BCL, namely Walton who will be sponsoring Central Zone and Islami Bank who will be sponsoring East Zone. Prime Bank has opted out of the current season, having previously backed South Zone. The BCB will be managing the North and South Zone teams who have failed to rope in corporate partners for the current edition.

BCL (Bangladesh Cricket League) 2020 Team Squads

  1. BCB South Zone Squad 2020: Abdur Razzak, Al Amin Hossain, Anamul Haque, Mahedi Hasan, Nurul Hasan, Shafiul Islam, Mahmudullah, Fazle Mahmud, Farhad Reza, Shamsur Rahman, Mohammad Al Amin, Nasum Ahmed, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Shahriar Nafees, Robiul Haque, Irfan Shukkur, Aminul Islam Biplob, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Ruyel Miah.
  2. Islami Bank East Zone Squad 2020: Imrul Kayes, Abu Jayed Chowdhury, Afif Hossain, Mominul Haque, Nayeem Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Rubel Hossain, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Pinak Ghosh, Hasan Mahmud, Zakir Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Taijul Islam, Amite Hasan, Rejaur Rahman, Tanvir Islam, Imranuzzaman, Khaled Ahmed, Rony Chowdhury, Mohammad Ashraful
  3. Walton Central Zone Squad 2020: Saif Hassan, Shuvagata Hom, Taibur Rahman, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Arafat Sunny, Shohidul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Mustafizur Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Raqibul Hasan, Mukidul Islam, Jaker Ali, Nazmul Islam, Mohammad Naim, Abdul Mazid, Ifran Hossain, Mohammad Suhrawardi, Shoriful Islam, Akbar Ali, Mehidy Hasan Miraz.
  4. BCB North Zone Squad 2020: Ariful Haque, Nayeem Islam, Junaid Siddique, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sunzamul Islam, Ebadat Hossain, Rony Talukder, Sumon Khan, Liton Das, Taskin Ahmed, Mahidul Islam Ankon, Rishad Hossain, Sanjit Saha, Salauddin Shakil, Jahurul Islam, Tanbir Haider, Enamul Haque jnr, Mizanur Rahman, Hossain Ali, Muktar Ali

Leave a Reply