Asia XI-World XI Squad Announced: Reports

The Asia XI-World XI squad has been announced for a two-match T20I series to be played in Dhaka next month. The matches will be played to celebrate the 100th anniversary of their founding father Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

Image result for Virat - KL Rahul ODI
Photo Source: (

As many as six cricketers from the Indian team have been added into the Asian XI squad. Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami and Rishabh Pant are the Indian players in the squad. However, the BCB President Nazmul Hassan is awaiting a final decision on Kohli and Rahul’s availability for the first game on March 18 as India also play against South Africa on that particular day. 

Also Read: Poonam Yadav: Key to India’s Women’s World T20 Title Hopes

Image result for tamim iqbal mushfiqur rahim
Photo Source: (

Meanwhile, five players have been named from the Bangladesh national team. Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman and Mahmudullah has been named in the Asian squad as well. The Afghanistan spin duo of Rashid Khan and Mujeeb-Ur-Rahman have also been added in the Asia XI squad.

Former Sri Lankan Captain Lasith Malinga and teammate Thisara Perera are the Sri Lankan players in the Asia XI Squad. No Pakistan players have been included in the squad.

Image result for Gayle-Pollard T20I
Photo Source: (

The World XI squad also has been announced and includes some big names as well. Chris Gayle, Faf Du Plessis, Kieron Pollard are some of the popular names. Former Australian cricketer Tom Moody will coach the World XI team in the tournament. The coach for the Asian XI squad has not been announced yet.

Among the bowlers in the World XI squad are Sheldon Cottrell, Lungi Ngidi, Andrew Tye, Mitchell McClenaghan.

The two Asia XI-World XI matches in Dhaka are slated for March 21 and 22, and the IPL starts on March 29. BCB President Hassan also said that the squads didn’t include any Pakistan players because they will be busy with the PSL final scheduled on March 22.

Also Read: On This Day: Sachin Tendulkar Breached the 200-Run Mark For the First Time in ODIs

Asia XI-World XI Squads

Asia XI

KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mahmudullah

World XI

Alex Hales, Chris Gayle, Faf du Plessis, Nicholas Pooran, Brendan Taylor, Jonny Bairstow, Kieron Pollard, Sheldon Cottrell, Lungi Ngidi, Andrew Tye, Mitchell McClenaghan

Leave a Reply