Kohli-less Asia Cup squad announced by India

India have announced their squad for the upcoming Asia Cup. The selectors have opted to give a number of key players rest during the tournament including Indian captain, Virat Kohli.

In Virat’s absence, Rohit Sharma is set to lead the Indian side with Shikar Dhawan named as the vice-captain. MS Dhoni has kept his place in the squad with the selectors going for Dinesh Karthik and KL Rahul as the backup keepers.

India’s middle order options will finally have of Ambati Rayudu after he missed out of the England tour. He had failed the Yo-Yo test, and Suresh Raina was named as his replacement. Now that the Andra Pradesh batsman has passed the test, the selectors have got him back into the squad.

Battling Rayudu for a spot in the middle-order will be Manish Pandey and Kedar Jadhav. The duo have been lingering around the Indian squad for quite some time, and the Asia Cup might be their best chance of showing their potential. Hardik Pandya will be India’s main all-rounder in the tournament.

Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have not been considered for the tournament. In their place, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel will be India’s spin options.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been declared fully fit and has been named in the squad. Jasprit Bumrah, who has been doing well in England after recovering him his thumb injury, has also been named in the team.

Rajasthan born pace bowler, Khaleel Ahmed has also made the cut with Shardul Thakur picked by the selectors once again.

Here is the whole Indian squad for Asia Cup 2018: Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan (VC), KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Khaleel Ahmed.

Leave a Reply